Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 23, 2007 / 8 Menachem-Av, 5767

Tapped out on bottled water

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I sure do feel bad for the bottled-water people. Maybe I better explain.

Back in the late 1980s, young upwardly mobile professionals — yuppies, if you recall the term — suddenly had cash to burn. This was the baby-boom generation. It demanded the good life — the best of everything.

The baby boomers rejected the simple approach of their cost-conscious parents. To heck with Folgers; they demanded freshly roasted specialty coffees (Starbucks). To heck with Budweiser; they wanted specialty beers (microbrews). And to heck with fresh water that poured right out of your kitchen tap; they wanted bottled spring water from exotic mountains.

Older generations never could understand the concept of bottled water. My father (the Big Guy) surely couldn't.

Big Guy: You pay money for something that comes out of your kitchen tap?

Yuppy: That's right.

Big Guy: But you're paying $10 a gallon for something you already have.

Yuppy: Only the best for me.

Big Guy: But water is free.

And so it was that the trendy crowd turned the bottled water market into a gold mine. By 2004, some 41 billion gallons were sold — that's upwards of $100 billion in revenue. But suddenly the bottled-water party is over.

Many of the same trendy folks who made bottled water hip have decided to stop drinking it because another trend is more hip.

According to Newsday, bottled water is bad for the environment. It requires some 50 million gallons of oil each year to produce the plastic bottles in which it is contained. Add to that the energy burned to produce and ship it and you have the save-the-environment people breathing down your neck.

Suddenly, New York and other cities are spending big money on advertising campaigns that encourage people to forsake bottled water — that encourage people to drink the water that comes out of their kitchen taps.

Some restaurants are banning bottled water, too.

"We don't look at it as losing money, we look at it as investing in the world," Del Posto, co-owner Joe Bastianich, told Newsday. He said his restaurant will make and sell its own mineral water on-site using tap water.

That's right, tap water. Tap water is suddenly chic. And I can't think of a concept that better illustrates the nuttiness of our country.

America's fresh, clean, safe water is the envy of the world. Throughout the history of mankind, civilizations sought to pipe water into homes — remember the Romans — and many civilizations are still failing at it.

Any sane fellow knows you don't drink the water when you're visiting Mexico or many other countries on two-thirds of the planet. You don't drink it because it's polluted and poisoned and all kinds of little living entities are swimming around waiting to attack your innards.

But in America, the water is pure. Virtually every home in every part of the country has a kitchen tap that offers an unlimited supply of it. You pull the tap and out it comes — safe, clean, rigorously regulated water.

Our tap water is a reflection of our country — a reflection of how incredibly successful the American experiment has been. It's also a reflection of how lazy and ignorant and unaware so many Americans have become — because we take our water for granted.

Until recently, we demanded "better" water — the stuff that comes in bottles. And now that is bad for us, too.

The whole bottled-water concept makes me wonder how many other things we're taking for granted.

Our freedom? In many places around the world, the government runs everything (Cuba, for instance) and the people have nothing — BECAUSE the government runs everything.

Yet some Americans are eager to dismantle the system that created our wealth because they think the government can do better — the same people who used to think bottled water was better.

All I know is the older I get, the wiser my father becomes. He knew 20 years ago or more that the bottled-water trend was just that — a nutty trend.

If only the rest of America was as wise as he.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2007, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles