Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 2, 2007 / 16 Tamuz, 5767

8-Tracks to iPhones: My gadget addiction

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | On my way out of the mall, I passed a man sitting in the parking lot. His beard was long. His feet were calloused.

Anything I can do? I asked.

"Nah," he said. "I give up."

On life? On hope?

"On the iPhone."

The iPhone?

"I'd like to wait in line for it," he lamented. "I really would. I know it's the newest, sleekest, most versatile mobile phone ever. I know it plays music, takes pictures, surfs the Net, plays videos, lets you talk for hours and fits in your pocket. I even heard it teaches your dog to poop on the newspaper. But ..."

But?

"I'm just so tired."

From what? I asked.

"From WHAT?" He laughed. "Oh, let's see. Before this I stood in line for the Xbox 360. Before that, I stood in line for the newest PlayStation. Before that, it was the first high-def plasma. Before that, the first high-def receiver.

"Before that, the first iPod with video. Before that, the first iPod with 60 gig. Before that, the first iPod, period.

"Before that, TiVo. Before that, Replay. Before that, DVD-RW. Before that, DVD, period.

"Before that, it was a recordable CD player. Before that, it was a CD player at all. Before that, a cassette player with Dolby. ..."

He paused. "I never understood that one."

WHAT WOULD GORDON GEKKO DO?
As he spoke, I took closer notice. Around his neck were a nest of wires and earmuffs.

"Oh, yeah," he said, "waited in line for these, too. Had to have the first Bose headphones. Had to have the first wraparound headphones. Had to have the first ear-bud headphones. And the first wireless headphones."

Which do you use now? I asked.

"None," he said, lifting the thick mass. "I can't get them untangled."

No wonder you're tired, I said.

"You ain't heard the half of it. It's a gadget addiction. It never ends. I waited in line for the first BlackBerry. Before that, the first PalmPilot. Before that, the first calculator!

"I had the first mini-cell phone. I had the first cordless cell phone. You know that big honking phone Michael Douglas used in 'Wall Street'?"

Uh-huh.

"Waited in line for that. Two hours."

Wow, I said.

"I bet Michael Douglas didn't have to do that."

I bet not.

SEVEN WAYS TO HEAR THE BOSS
"And don't get me started on music. I mean, I had to have the latest Springsteen concert that just came out on Blu-ray Disc. Before that, I had to have it in high-def DVD. Before that, I had to own the first CD. Before that, the first cassette. Before that, the first album.

"I now have seven versions of the same record. And ..."

He stuck out his weathered foot.

"I got the calluses to prove it."

He sighed. "When I think of all the stuff I had to be first on the block with, it's kind of pathetic. I mean, I had the first quadraphonic stereo. Now that's laughable. I had the first 8-Track player; it's a joke, too. I had the first universal remote. It's like two feet long. My dog uses it instead of a bone."

He sighed. "Just as well. I never did figure out how it worked."

He put his head in his hands. Beneath his long hair he had Bluetooth devices on his ears. He had video cameras in his front pockets. He had all kinds of pagers and PDAs on his belt, each one smaller than the next.

Why do you do it? I asked. If you know it's going to be out of date, why rush to get it?

"Because they fool you, don't they?" he yelled. "They make you think it CAN'T get any smaller than this! It CAN'T get any faster than this! It CAN'T do any more than this! So I get it. And for 24 hours, I'm the coolest guy on my block. And then, next thing I know, the guy down the street gets one for $8.99.

"I give up. I can't stand it anymore. I can't stand anymore. The iPhone is here, and I'll just be ... a latecomer."

He began to weep. I offered him a ride home. He thought for a minute, then nodded his head.

"That your car?" he sniffed.

Yes, I said. The Chrysler.

"With the new Hemi?" he asked.

Oh, boy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2007, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles