Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 11, 2006 / 15 Tamuz, 5766

Now we're worrying about whether WE are good for our FOOD!

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm beginning to hanker for the days when all we had to worry about when we ate was whether our food was high in cholesterol, heavy on carbs, soaked in sodium, dyed with carcinogens, riddled with nitrites and harboring trace amounts of the bovine growth hormone that may or may not turn little boys into little girls by the time they reach puberty.


You know — simpler times.


But eating is starting to get a lot more complicated. After a generation of simply worrying about whether food is good for us, we have started to worry about whether WE are good for our FOOD. Did our dinner lead a pleasant life? Was this egg born in peace? Is this lettuce local or did it waste gas to get here? And shouldn't we be switching to yak, anyway?


Those questions, long bubbling up in food circles, are now widening out to well, me - and all the other folks who used to happily eat a hot dog without considering its trip from farm to bun. Although this newfound consciousness may eventually make for a cleaner, kinder world, it's also going to make us even more neurotic about eating. Compared with the American dinner table, Freud's couch is going to look like a yoga mat.


"I feel bad," says Jason, a Manhattanite whose eco-consciousness has lately risen to the ozone layer. "I left Al Gore's movie thinking, 'Oh my god, we're all going to be under water!' So buying local produce became very, very important to me." Since local food doesn't have to travel too far, said Jason, it burns less gas, thus contributing less to global warming, thus keeping the polar ice caps from melting, thus keeping New York above sea level. See? That's the new way of thinking. "But at the end of the day," he continued, "I still want to have organic strawberries. And they're usually shipped from California."


There you have it in a nut-case: A truly conscientious consumer can no longer eat organic berries without feeling bad.


Eating meat is even harder. Thanks to books like "Fast Food Nation" detailing the horrors of the feedlot, buying a plain old burger is starting to feel like green-lighting torture. And it's not just the cows we have to consider anymore. It's the grass beneath their feet.


"Yaks have softer hooves," says Jay Weinstein, author of "The Ethical Gourmet," explaining why he recommends eating yak as an ethical alternative to beef. "Cattle tend to trample the prairie, and it takes a lot longer for the natural grasses to come back."


Okay. Noted. Add it to my "New Things To Feel Bad About" list.


Whole Foods is aware of this list and is ready to address it. Maybe even add to it.


"We want to go beyond organic," says Jeff Turnaff, vice president for product purchasing in the Northeast. "'Organic' doesn't take into account the way an animal is raised from birth to slaughter." A new line, set to debut in a few months, will: "Whole Foods Animal Compassionate."


Wonderful! Let's hope some of us can afford it. But once the Compassionate brand hits the market, we'll also know that anything else is less compassionate — Mistreated Animals that First Went Out and Trampled the Prairie-brand beef.


Try getting your teenager to eat that.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy is a columnist for The New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2006, NY Daily News

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles