Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 11, 2005 / 4 Taamuz, 5765

No separate peace

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | People got up and went to work in London Friday. They did the same in New York, hopping on subways and buses as always. Stock markets in both countries even climbed above where they were when Thursday's carnage struck. In short, ordinary human beings on two continents acted with great and silent courage.

Perhaps to a fault.

The counsel that we go about our lives comes from City Hall, the White House and now from heads of state in Europe. Most of us have no choice. We don the uniforms of routine and show up at the office or school or job site to get a paycheck. We try to pretend nothing happened. Or that it won't happen to us.

But something did happen and pretending could be a fatal mistake. Indeed, too much pretending could bring a sudden end to the world as we know it.

Yes, we must go on with our lives, but we must not become so stoic that we forget the nature of terrorism and what must be done about it. This evil will not go away just because we go back to work.

We face an enemy like none we have ever known. Without warning, they blow up trains and buses, they use airplanes filled with passengers as missiles, they kidnap and behead civilians. These are madmen. They are not subject to the civilities of mutual understanding. They must be wiped out, before they wipe us out.

To the terrorists, 50 or 100 or 500 victims, all that matters is bigger is better. Or have we forgotten the video where Osama Bin Laden laughed as he described the twin towers' collapse? Have we forgotten that each attack is, in his sick mind, a mere warmup to the Big One?

In 1998, he issued a statement titled "The Nuclear Bomb of Islam." In it, he said that "it is the duty of Muslims to prepare as much force as possible to terrorize the enemies of G-d."

Another time, he said that "to kill the Americans and their allies — civilian and military — is an individual duty for every Muslim who can do it in any country in which it is possible."

His call to duty defines the essence of our duty — that we must be of two minds about terrorism. We must go about our lives as though nothing has changed, while simultaneously remembering that everything could change in an instant more horrible than we can imagine.

Above all, we must not confuse or combine the two ideas. We must not let our courage in everyday life morph into the mistaken belief that terrorists are inevitable or that mutual coexistence is an option. As Secretary of State Rice said Thursday, in a slap at the appeasement lobby, "There can be no separate peace."

Donate to JWR


Sadly, there are warning signs that, as a society, we are falling into that trap. For civilians, the trap lies in thinking that exploding buses and trains are just inconveniences of modern life — and that we can pay such a price as long as the attack is not cataclysmic.

Wall Street even has a phrase for this calculation — the terror risk premium. Certain stocks are priced in anticipation of "events" that will hurt businesses such as hotels and air lines. The hurt, it is assumed, will be temporary. Ergo, the stocks will quickly recover, as they did after Thursday's "event."

That's the business of business. But that's only half the commitment we need as a society. The other half is an aggressive military and the willingness to use it. We can't forget that a military on the offense is the national complement to our personal courage of going to work.

Each day in this war is crucial. As President Bush said about Bin Laden's nuclear goal: "He announced that this was his intention, and I believe we need to take him seriously."

Bush made those remarks almost four years ago, before we went into Iraq. Our mistakes and failures have cost us dearly, there and around the world.

But as the barbarism in London proved, there can be no retreat or compromise in the war on terror. And what Bush said about Bin Laden is even more true now: "We need to take him seriously."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, NY Daily News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles