Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 19, 2005 / 12 Taamuz, 5765

Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | NEWS ITEM: Traditional summer-camp programs are being replaced by "specialty" camps focusing on things such as technology, chess and college preparation.

Dear Mom and Dad,

Hi! How are you? I am writing from camp! I'm sorry it's been so long since my last letter, but I was in Spanish Language Lab for four days. The good news is, "Hola!" Anyhow, camp is really cool. I've met some neat kids in my bunk, although the counselors have told us to call it a "domicile" because the word "bunk" isn't gonna be on our SAT exams, so why bother learning it? Also, they said not to refer to them as "counselors" but as "adolescent management consultants." I don't know what that means, to be honest, but then, I'm only up to the "Ac" part of the dictionary.

Anyhow, Dad, I'm doing all that physical stuff that you told me to do at camp. Like, I work out my hands really hard in graphic design class, and my counselor says I'm the "fastest mouse in the domicile." Oops. I said "counselor" again. Don't tell him, OK?

You asked me about the food? It's OK, I guess. I kind of wanted McDonald's and stuff, but the sushi is cool. I just wish we didn't have to make it all from scratch. Cutting up that raw tuna is like, you know, gross!

So, you wanted to know my typical week. Well, on Mondays, after breakfast, we have aviation. It's mostly lectures and simulators, so don't worry. We hardly ever take the plane up.

And then Monday night, we sample space food for dinner. It's kind of like eating toothpaste. Hey, Dad, you should ask for a refund for this part!

Tuesday is Chinese culture day, so we learn about some emperor named Ming. Tuesday afternoons we have creative writing, photography, math and early prep for the bar exam. Tuesday night we saw a movie. I was so psyched! But it was kind of boring. Who's this Fellini guy, anyhow?

Wednesday was the usual routine, you know, robotics all morning and human resources training all afternoon. We did go to the swimming pool Wednesday night, for a chemical compound breakdown of chlorine. Some kid fell in the water and the counselor yelled at him for disturbing the pH balance. Oops. I called him a counselor again. Lo siento.

Thursdays and Fridays are the coolest. Those are arts and culture days. We have digital music production, intermediate ballet and Theater Lab I and II. And guess what? I got a part in the next camp play! It's called "La Boheme"! I'm trying to learn all that Italian by Saturday night. I'll probably have to stay up late.

Donate to JWR


OK, since I'm 13 now, Mom and Dad, I think I can talk to you about girls. I'm learning a lot about them at camp, as you said I would. On Saturday afternoons, we have Gender Role Reversal. All I can say is, I had no idea how hard it was to put on lipstick! Mom, you rock!

But, in the end, I'm mostly hanging out with the guys in my domicile. There's Sammy from Beverly Hills and Sahib from the Hamptons. Most of the time, we just nod at one another, because it's hard to talk with your iPod going and your headphones in. But the other day, me and Sammy had to change batteries at the same time, and I said "Whassup" and he said "Whassup" back. So, we're like, best buds now.

Anyhow, I gotta go, because it's almost dinner. I think we're doing Mediterranean night, which means I'll have to crush olives again. Sammy was telling me he has this poor friend who goes to some camp, like, in the woods, and they paddle in canoes and swim and play baseball and sing some dumb song around a campfire. He thinks all camps used to be like that. You know what I think? I think Sammy's gonna fail his history test tomorrow.

Adios, Mama y Papa!

Your son,

Camper No. 10278-H9

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2005, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles