Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Poisoning the Cup of Consolation

By Mordechai Schiller






After being shocked, a devout journalist is reminded why he religiously avoids reading the "newspaper of record"


JewishWorldReview.com | I can't search the hills in Hebron for Gilad Shaar, Naftali Frankel and Eyal Yifrach.

All I can do is pray.

That, and obsessively follow news stories.

Which led me to an article in The New York Times: "Missing Israeli Teenagers Revive a Mother's Hard-Earned Intimacy With Loss," by Jodi Rudoren.

The first few paragraphs were so poignant, I let down my guard.

It started out at an egagmement party for Rabbi Seth and Mrs. Sherri Mandell's daughter. In middle of the celebration the groom-to-be put down his toast and said, "I'm sorry, but we have to stop the party. Something terrible has happened."

Mrs. Mandell immediately started searching for information. She Googled "Israeli teenagers kidnapped," but the search results turned up stories about the capture and savage murder of her 13-year-old son, Koby, 14 years ago, near their home in Tekoa.

"She spent much of the next day — what would have been Koby's 27th birthday — in bed, crying. 'It was just too unbearable," Mrs. Mandell said. For weeks Mandell did not leave the house. "It was like razor blades cutting my body up," she recalled.

Besides my obsession with Gilad, Naftali and Eyal, I took this story personally. I know Rabbi Seth Mandell since 1978. My brother, Rabbi Nota Schiller, dean of Ohr Somayach College of Jewish Studies in Jerusalem, gave the eulogy at little Koby's funeral. He told me it was the hardest thing he ever had to do.


THOUGHT PROVOKING

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Soon, as I read on, I started choking on my tears. I should have known better.

The dateline should have been the first tipoff: "TEKOA, West Bank." There is no such place as "West Bank." It's Judea and Samaria.

Then, as Yisrael Medad wrote in a blog post "The language thieves," on Arutz Sheva news network, Ruderon goes on to write:


"If only these three boys had not hitchhiked in occupied Palestinian territory — if only Koby and his friend, Yosef Ishran, had not ditched school to go hiking in the canyon behind their West Bank homes."


Medad pointed out,


"Actually, the Gush Etzion Bloc was pre-1948 Israel so it cannot be 'occupied Palestinian territory,' well, maybe it could be 'occupied illegally occupied Jordanian territory.' Always blame the Jews."


Then, in an "et tu, Brute" backstabbing (at least Brutus stabbed Julius Caesar face-to-face), Ruderson writes:


"For all her bereavement work Mandell has never involved herself in a Palestinian-Israeli group of people who lost loved ones in the conflict — 'that's more political,' she said. But she, too, is political, exploiting the emotion of her trauma to make the case against Israel's prisoner releases as part of peace negotiations."


Exploiting?

Frankly, I was shocked that even The New York Times could stoop to poisoning the cup of consolation.

Again, I shoudn't have been surprised. Before Mrs. Jodi Rudoren became N.Y. Times Jerusalem Bureau Chief, she tweeted about a Times review of a new book:

@NYTCohen on new book by @PeterBeinart.

Book is terrific: provocative, readable, full of reporting and reflection.

That book review begins:


"Peter Beinart's The Crisis of Zionism is an important new book that rejects the manipulation of Jewish victimhood in the name of Israel's domination of the Palestinians and asserts that the real issue for Jews today is not the challenge of weakness but the demands of power."


The New York Times is highly professional at what it does. The question is, though, what does The Times do?

A phrase that comes to mind is "social engineering."

In The Art of Deception, Kevin Mitnick, the legendary hacker turned computer security expert (who would know better?), says: "Social Engineering uses influence and persuasion to deceive people by convincing them that the social engineer is someone he is not, or by manipulation. As a result, the social engineer is able to take advantage of people to obtain information with or without the use of technology."

As far as I know, The Times isn't in the business of information mining. But they use similar techniques of deception to spread disinformation. That is a cousin to newspeak, the language created by George Orwell for the nightmarish world of his novel 1984.

Newspeak is "…any corrupt form of English; esp. ambiguous or euphemistic language as used in official pronouncements or political propaganda" (Oxford English Dictionary).

As Orwell put it, "Newspeak was designed not to extend but to diminish the range of thought." And The New York Times publishes all the newspeak that's fit to print.

Or, to paraphrase the Israeli statesman Abba Eban, even when covering a catastrophe, The New York Times never misses an opportunity to miss an opportunity.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Mordechai Schiller is a copyeditor at Hamodia, the Daily Newspaper of Torah Jewry, where this first appeared.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.



© 2014, Hamodia, the Daily Newspaper of Torah Jewry

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles