Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 16, 2014 / 18 Sivan, 5774

The stench of Obama's hubris may be even worse than that of Bergdahl's clothes

By Ron Hart




JewishWorldReview.com | “It was unanimous among MY principals in MY government.”

– Barack Obama, on his decision to swap Bowe Bergdahl for five top members of the Taliban.

The arrogance and incompetence continue.

Obama is even more callous and indifferent in his lame-duck term. He is certainly a “me, my, mine and I”-type guy and seldom “us” – unless he is blaming someone. I wouldn’t be surprised if al-Qaida issued a statement claiming responsibility for the shambles that is the Obama administration.

Obama’s circumventing of the law and unilaterally releasing the “Obama Five” Taliban leaders in exchange for one soldier, who is, at best, a deserter, shows hubris. If he threw in Harry Reid and Joe Biden with the trade, then, maybe. But five for one? The Taliban, or “tally bon” as Obama likes to call them, just to show he is smart, should give him honorary membership, or at least a 25 percent discount at the Jihadist Gift Shop.

The Obama administration is purely political. Its goal is not to wipe out radical Islam but, instead, to register the fanatics to vote Democratic in Chicago and Miami. To this administration, the only terrorist network is Fox News.

Even CNN was forced to actually practice journalism. Reporter Jim Acosta challenged Susan “Sunday Talk Show” Rice on her statement that Bergdahl served with “honor and distinction.” Surprised at a legitimate question, her response was, “Jim, really?” In essence, she was saying, “I cannot believe you are asking me a tough question. How rude. Don’t you know we have a deal? We do what we want, and the mainstream media cheer.”

To be fair, Rice said Bergdahl served with “honor and distinction,” but did not say for whom.

I’m not sure what motivated Obama to have Bergdahl released at such a high cost. Maybe Bergdahl’s mother was quite compelling. When she and Obama entered the Rose Garden to spike the ball on announcing the release, they looked like they had just left the hot tub at a Sandals Resort.

She might be like Forrest Gump’s mom. Don’t blame her. Maybe she’s the only hero in this mess.

Now these hardened Taliban leaders will go back into the fight. But how can we keep suicide bombers and improvised explosive devices from blowing up our troops? By not being in that country.

I’ve long opposed wars of choice and wars of occupation. Our brave soldiers would not be killed and maimed if they were not sitting ducks in these Islamic-extremist countries. Obama justified his actions by saying “We never leave an America

RECEIVE LIBERTY LOVING COLUMNISTS IN YOUR INBOX … FOR FREE!

Receive Hart and many, many more. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.

n behind.” Which is true, because we never leave these countries. Nothing has been gained by these wars, and, by occupying their countries, we have only created more enemies and future jihadis.

If we have had success, it is with drones and financial sanctions. Al-Qaida and the Taliban are reported to be in financial ruin. Osama bin Laden pulled off a sucker punch on us only because he was the rare radical who had family money to do so.

The Taliban and al-Qaida are broke and are not the threat we have been led to believe. The Taliban showed up to turn over Bergdahl, driving a 1986 Toyota truck with flame decals on the side – just to give it that intimidating look. This is what we are scared of?

These folks don’t have a truck newer than 1995, running water, cable TV or homogenized milk. They can’t invade us. I’m no military historian, but I think their order of priorities would have to be: Get a new truck, cable TV and a rudimentary selection of dairy products, and then cross the ocean and conquer the infidel Americans.

Even though we perpetually kill their top leaders, al-Qaida replaces them. But that’s not what bugs Obama and his Justice Department. They are just mad that al-Qaida has yet to promote a Hispanic, woman or Jew to their leadership ranks.

We occupy their country and support a corrupt Afghan leader. Having cane-toting, fur-hat-wearing Hamid Karzai as your friend is like having a brother-in-law with a heroin and gambling habit who lives in your house and knows your account passwords.

At least six U.S. soldiers died looking for Bergdahl. But to avoid potential problems here, let me make the only point that matters: It’s hard to shoot or blow up Americans in Afghanistan or Iraq if we are not there. Innocent bystanders would agree.


Ron Hart Archives


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.



© 2013 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast