Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 19, 2014 / 21 Sivan, 5774

Sooner or later, we all need a little help

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) When your world spins out of control, what exactly do you do?

Me? I usually hold on tight and wait and pray for it to stop.

There are gifts that come with waiting and praying. Iíve seen plenty. So have you.

But if youíve lived as long as I have, you probably know that holding on is a waste of time. Itís letting go, not clinging, that brings order to chaos, sees hope in despair and calms any storm.

Still, there are times when it seems the best you can do is sink your claws in like a cat about to get flea dipped.

This was one of those times.

I often fly for work or to visit family. Usually, it doesnít bother me. But once in a while, flying makes me feel as if my head is stuck in the pressure cooker that my mother would use to turn green beans into gray mush.

Flying is not the problem. Itís the going up and coming down, the change in altitude and cabin pressure that treats eardrums like the balloons that get blown up and twisted into wiener dogs.

Itís especially hard on babiesí ears. Thatís why you often hear them crying on flights, along with, well, people like me.

I didnít quite cry this time, but nearly. Itís a quick flight, about an hour, from Las Vegas, where I live, to Monterey, California, where I planned to spend a week visiting my children and grandchildren.


I did fine on takeoff, but ran into trouble when we started the descent. My ears began to pop, as they often do on flights, only the popping kept getting worse.

Pretty soon it felt as if my head was under water. By the time we landed, I could barely hear.

Luckily, the feeling subsided and I had no problem hearing little people call me ďNana.Ē

Imagine my surprise the next morning when I rolled out of bed to start ďnana dutyĒ and found I couldnít stand up.

Actually, I did manage to stand for a bit until the room began to reel like the boat in ďThe Perfect StormĒ and flung me back down on the bed.

I lay still as a corpse, clutching a pillow, waiting for the world to right itself and make the reeling stop. But the tiniest movement of my head sent it reeling again.

The good news, at least, was I knew what was wrong. The bad news was it wasnít good.

Vertigo is a loss of balance often caused by an inner ear infection, or by having your eardrums twisted like balloons into wiener dogs. It spins your world like a merry-go-round free falling through space. (It can also make you throw up, but thankfully, I was spared that.)

The worst of it is the sense of helplessness. Some of us (and we know who we are) would sooner go to prison and spend the rest of our lives in an orange jumpsuit than have to ask, God forbid, for a little help.

This is true not just in vertigo, but at any point when balance is lost and life spins out of control.

Lying on my daughterís guest bed, praying for the spinning to stop, I recalled other times I had felt much the same: As a child worrying about my mother. As a mother worrying about my child. As a wife afraid of losing my husband. As a widow afraid of moving on with my life.

In each of those instances and in countless others, I learned time and again a little secret: Balance and control are optical (or auditory or emotional or intellectual) illusions. None of us stands for long on our own. Sooner or later, we all need a little help. We just have to ask.

So I asked. And my daughter, bless her, took me to a clinic for medicine to make me feel better.

My husband offered to drive a thousand miles to bring me home, so I wouldnít need to fly again until my ears were better.

And my even grandbabes gave me a break so I could lie on the sofa watching them run in circles like penguins on speed.

Funny, isnít it? Somedays you start out feeling helpless, and end up feeling loved.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast