Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 12, 2014 / 14 Sivan, 5774

Everybody has a story to tell

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) What's the first line of your story? Have you taken the time to write it down?

Stepping off the treadmill after 30 minutes at a slightly brisker pace than my usual, I winced in pain, mumbled something under my breath that sounded like "ackk!" and looked up to meet a pair of empathetic eyes.

An older gentleman dressed in proper gym attire and sensible shoes, sat on a sofa, taking a break from the action or maybe waiting for a ride home.

"It's the knees," I said, rolling my eyes up to heaven. "They'll be the death of me yet."

He nodded and smiled.

I hobbled over to the hand sanitizer dispenser, grabbed a fistful of wet tissues and went back, as directed by the sign on the treadmill, to "sanitize" any critters I might've left behind.

"When did they start to bother you?" he asked.

"Excuse me?" I said.

"Your knees. How long have they been hurting?"

"Oh," I said, "Twenty years, give or take. I used to run. I don't any more. Now I'm glad just to be able to walk."

"Keep it up," he said. "It might give you a few more years."

That's how the conversation began, slowly, just skimming the water. But it quickly gained botheed and depth as we began to play an old game that I love, one my kids like to call, "Mom Asks Too Many Questions."

I started with my standard: "Where are you from?" The answer often says a lot.

"Well," he said, pausing to think, "I was born in Africa. . . ."

Within minutes, he recapped the bare bones of his life story.



His parents were French, but his father's business took them to live in Africa. He recalled how he'd loved, as a child, taking rides out into the countryside on the backs of his African nurses.

He grew up, went to medical school in the United States, became a cardiologist and practiced for years back East before retiring to Las Vegas.

"Now I'm here (in the gym) most every day. I walk 30 minutes and lift weights. I think it helps. I'm pushing 90."

"What a wonderful story," I said. "I can only imagine all the lives you have touched. Have you written it all down?"

He shook his head and smiled dismissively, as if surprised by the question. It's a common reaction. I've seen it a lot.

For years, as a reporter and feature writer, I interviewed and profiled people from fascinating backgrounds in all walks of life.

When I asked if they'd ever written their stories, they often seemed surprised, as if it never occurred to them to do so.

Occasionally, they would tell me things they had never told to anyone — not even in their own families. The reason for this was simple: Apparently, no one else had ever seemed interested.

Too often, the people who are closest to us — spouses, children, grandchildren — assume they know our stories, so they don't bother to ask. Or they mean to ask, but wait until it's too late, and the stories are lost forever.

"You need to write that story," I said to my new gym buddy. "Don't worry about getting it published. Just do it for yourself and for your children and your grandchildren. They may not seem especially interested now, but they will be one day."

He looked away, out the window, across the wide Las Vegas Valley to a long-ago, faraway place in Africa.

Finally, he said, mostly to himself, "I miss riding on the backs of my nurses."

"That's it," I said. "That's your first line. Go home and write it down. Then just keep at it. The others lines will follow."

He laughed and nodded.

"Promise?" I said.

"I promise," he said. "And you keep using those knees."

Fair enough. But between you and me? I think he got the better end of the deal.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast