Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Age comes in on little crow's feet

By Jim Mullen




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sue came in complaining about her aching back and about being tired after spending a hot day weeding the garden. I said, "Well, stop acting like you're 50." I'm pretty sure we had something I don't like for dinner that night, or at least I did.

I didn't mean it as an insult; it's just that getting older sneaks up on you. Some days you wonder, why can't I read more than a few pages of a book at night without falling asleep? I used to be able to read for hours at a time. "I'm old" wasn't my first thought. When you ask someone to twist off the cap on a jar of salsa for you, "I'm old" isn't your first thought. When people start talking about spending the winter in Florida, "I'll never do that, it's for old people" won't be your first thought.

It's not as if Sue and I are old old, but we both wish we were only 50 again -- back when we could get out of a chair after watching an hour of TV without feeling like someone had rabbit-punched us in the kidneys. Back when people passing us on the freeway didn't flash us rude hand gestures for going so slow. Back when we only had one doctor, and we knew his name and what we were paying him for. Now we get bills from doctors we've never heard of for tests we don't remember taking.

"Was that the one where they stuck that thing down my throat, or the one where they stuck that thing up the other end?"

"No," Sue says, "that was last month. This is the bill for the MRI on your knee."

"That doesn't seem as expensive as we thought."



"This is just the bill for the guy who took the results from the technician, walked them down the hall and handed them to the doctor. We haven't gotten the real bills yet."

And we're some of the lucky ones. Neither of us are on chemo; we can still walk, we have our own teeth and the kids aren't asking us who's going to get Grandma's dishes when we croak. Yet.

The surprise is how getting old sneaks up on you. The first time you get a free copy of the AARP magazine in the mail, your first reaction is to hide it from your friends and family. "I'm not old," you think. "I'm only 50! Why are they sending this to me? There must be some mistake." It takes about seven years before you stop tossing it automatically into the garbage. At some point, you start reading every issue word for word. You look at the famous people on the cover and realize that they are your age. And they don't look so bad. Of course they don't look bad -- they have personal trainers and personal chefs and they're wearing makeup and a $500-an-hour stylist has just fluffed their hair.

Remember, when anybody on TV says that 50 is the new 30, or that 60 is the new 40, or that 70 is the new 50, they aren't talking about you. They're talking about Cher. She's 68 and looks great -- but that's her job! Think how fantastic you would you look if you got paid to spend eight hours a day exercising, stretching, tweezing, dieting and shopping. That's not even mentioning nips and tucks, capped teeth and hair weaves.

Madonna's 55. Harrison Ford is 71. Sean Connery is 83. So that's four people -- out of 6 billion -- who don't look their age. And for all we know, they all need help opening a new jar of mayonnaise when they're at home.

I'm not relishing the prospect of becoming feebler and feebler, but the trick is not to pretend to be young. The trick is learning how to be old.

ARCHIVES


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."




© 2014, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast