Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Families of terrorist-abducted Israeli teens refuse to succumb to despair

By Nitzi Yakov, Shlomi Diaz, Shlomo Cesana, Yael Barnovsky, and Ilan Gattegno




Will not fail the Divine's test; seek help of others


JewishWorldReview.com | As the days pass following the abduction of three Jewish teenagers near Hebron, the boys' families are refusing to succumb to despair despite the uncertainty surrounding the situation.

Hamas terrorists kidnapped Gilad Shaar (16), Eyal Yifrach (19), and Naftali Frenkel (16) Thursday night while they were hitchhiking home from school, Israel has said. A massive manhunt has been underway since Friday to rescue the teens.

"I know that our children are on their way home," Iris Yifrach, Eyal's mother, said Sunday. "I feel it. I am very serene because G0D is watching over our children."

Hosting a religious gathering in her hometown of Elad, she said, "I look at this test that G0D has set before me, and I pray that He will rescue my son Eyal and Gilad and Naftali. This is a big test for all of us."

The Shaer and Frenkel families thanked the people of Israel for the waves of support they have received.

"We are going through a difficult time in these last few days and I want to hug the people of Israel with a big embrace, an embrace of gratitude. An embrace of prayer," said Bat-Galim Shaar, Gilad's mother. "Gilad is strong, and I am sure that Naftali and Eyal are strong too. I want to ask the people of Israel to continue praying and being together. Continue giving that strength to our children, and with the help of God, with the power of this togetherness we will succeed."

Earlier Sunday, Naftali Frenkel's mother, Rachel, spoke to reporters, saying, "We are enveloped by a very warm circle of wonderful family and community. We know and feel that every effort is being made to bring the children home. We are grateful to every soldier in the field, every Shin Bet operative, the members of Knesset, the mothers and fathers of the soldiers in the battlefield, all the media personnel who are here, in the hot sun, to bring our story to the world. Thank you. Thank you very much."

She added that her family is "well aware that the heavens are being torn open with prayer for our children, and we ask that you continue to pray. We are optimistic."


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Directly addressing her absent son, she said, "Naftali, your father and mother and siblings love you to no end. The nation of Israel is turning the world upside down in order to bring you home."

Israeli Knesset members and ministers flocked to the families' homes on Sunday to offer their support. As he was leaving the Frenkel home on Sunday, Interior Minister Gideon Sa'ar said, "I came to support the family. What I am feeling is what everyone in Israel is feeling. The security forces are doing everything possible, and there is no better force anywhere in the world."

Education Minister Shay Piron also visited the house, saying that "abducting 11th graders is morally the lowest terror organizations can go. I say this explicitly: This will not be worth it for anyone involved."

Housing Minister Uri Ariel remarked that he had met "three extraordinary families."

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu's wife, Sara, also visited the homes of the families on Sunday, telling the parents that she was deeply moved by the strength of their spirit.

"On behalf of myself, my husband, and the entire people of Israel, I want to give you strength and offer you my embrace," she said. "We are all praying for the rapid and safe return of the three precious boys."

Meanwhile, social services provided assistance to the immediate and extended families of the abducted teens.

"We arrive during the most intimate and difficult moments, offer our help, and leave the decision up to the family. In emergency situations like terror attacks we usually wait," social worker Ariela Segal said.

Social workers visited the boys' schools to help explain the situation to their classmates, said Segal.

'BRINGS BACK OUR BOYS'

On June 15, thousands gather at the Western
Wall to pray for the release of three
Jewish teenagers who have been
missing since the night of June 12

A Facebook page created Friday following the kidnapping had garnered close to 80,000 "likes" by Monday.

The "Bring Back Our Boys" Facebook page, which aims to raise international awareness of the kidnapping, acquired more than 7,000 "likes" in its first four hours, and numerous viewers uploaded pictures of themselves holding signs reading "Bring Back Our Boys."

The page is predicated on the international protest formula initiated by U.S. First Lady Michelle Obama, who created a page called "Bring Back Our Girls" to campaign for the release of nearly 300 Christian Nigerian girls kidnapped by the Muslim terrorist group Boko Haram.

Viewers who arrive at the "Bring Back Our Boys" page are asked to share it with friends, with an emphasis on celebrities who can more effectively raise the page's profile by adding pictures of themselves with the slogan.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.









© 2014, JNS.org. All rights reserved.

Quantcast