Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

The Indomitable Jewish Spirit

By Michael Freund




Instead of breaking us, a horrific act of terror has brought us all together



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This past Sunday, a woman named Racheli Fraenkel gave one of the most remarkable and moving pleas ever delivered by an anxious mother.

In remarks that spanned just 90 seconds, Fraenkel, whose 16-year-old son Naphtali was one of the three Israeli teens kidnapped last week by Palestinian terrorists, exemplified the virtuousness and inner strength of the entire Jewish people.

"I came out to say thank you," she began, before graciously praising others for their help and support.

There were no words of anger or rage, no hatred or calls for revenge. Indeed, from the outset, this woman, who had surely just been through the worst 48 hours of her life, immediately focused attention on others, making sure to offer them thanks and encouragement, as if she was not the one in need of such reassurance.

No one would have faulted Frankel for screaming, breaking down in tears or hurling accusations. No one would have condemned her for criticizing the powers-that-be, demanding action and blasting a world indifferent to Jewish suffering.

But in a steady and composed manner, this loving Jewish mother voiced appreciation for the "waves of prayer and support" and "positive energy" she and her family had received from a sympathetic public.

"Please pray with us," she asked, as tears began to well up in her eyes.

"They were just boys on their way home from school," she pointed out, before concluding on a poignant note of optimism. "We'll hug them soon," Frankel vowed, adding, "G0D willing, we will be able to celebrate their return safely."


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


What incredible inner strength! Like most Israelis, I spent this past weekend in a fog, my thoughts clouded by a mix of worry, disbelief and indignation.

I could not concentrate, found it difficult to fall asleep and felt guilty for laughing at a joke or savoring the aroma of a freshly brewed cup of coffee.

Immediately after the end of Sabbath, I rushed to check the news, hoping, praying that a miracle had occurred and the three kidnapped youths had been safely returned to their families.

Unfortunately, that did not happen, and I remained glued to the television set, desperately wanting to hear the anchor announce there was breaking news to report.

Instead, the viewing public was treated to one talking head after another, as the various channels tried to fill the time even though they had little if anything to report.

And then it happened. In an unexpected twist, I caught a glimpse of the indomitable spirit of the Jewish people, the unseen elements that are the secret of our survival down through the generations: faith and determination.

Across the country, in spontaneous and simultaneous acts of solidarity, thousands of Jews came together to do what Jews have always done in times of distress: They gathered to pray.

Just as Racheli Fraenkel had asked.

And not just on Saturday evening, when it was easy and convenient. Sunday too saw massive prayer gatherings at the Western Wall in Jerusalem, and at public facilities and schools throughout the country.

Tens of thousands of Jews from all walks of life put aside their arguments and differences, their quarreling and squabbling, and raised their voices as one, pleading with the Creator to have mercy on His children, on our children.

At the central synagogue in Ra'anana, an overflow crowd packed the sanctuary, spilling out onto the pavilion outside.

Several chapters of Psalms were recited, as young and old alike swayed back and forth in mounting intensity.

There was none of the chatter that often accompanies organized prayer services, no gossiping or sarcasm on display.

Just prayer, just the simple act of pouring out one's heart, imploring our Father in Heaven to heed His attribute of mercy and foil the plots of our foes.



As the verses written by King David soared upward, carried ever higher by the sincerity with which they were uttered, I looked around and pondered this extraordinary scene.

The Palestinian terrorists who had kidnapped those three children surely felt that in doing so, they would shatter this nation's morale. Our enemies know all too well how much we value life, and how precious we consider every soul to be.

Certainly, they told one another, this abduction will bring the people of Israel to their knees.

And that, perhaps, was their biggest mistake of all. Because instead of breaking us, this horrific act of terror has brought us all together, united as one in our love and concern for those three Israeli teens.

It has touched a nerve deep inside every one of us, reminding us that we must stand up to evil, confront it and defeat it, showing no mercy to those who seek our destruction.

Ironically, by seeking to rupture our resilience, the terrorists have only made us stronger. By attempting to crush our spirit, they have instead awakened our innate fortitude and valor.

I have never been more proud to be a part of this nation, to belong to a people that despite unprecedented injustice, continues to cling to its conviction and faith.

Armed with such belief, and confident in the justness of our cause, there is no power on earth that can or will stand in our way.

Comment by clicking here.

The writer served as deputy communications director in the Prime Minister's Office under former premier Binyamin Netanyahu. He is the founder and Chairman of Shavei Israel, a Jerusalem-based group that facilitates the return of the Bnei Menashe and other "lost Jews" to the Jewish people.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Andrew Silow-Carroll is the editor in chief of the New Jersey Jewish News, where this article first appeared.

© 2014, Andrew Silow-Carroll

Quantcast