Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 27, 2013 /19 Tammuz, 5773

When the whole of D.C.'s political class agrees on something, it scares me

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | While our angry and embarrassed U.S. government plays "Where's Waldo?" trying to capture NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden, the jury is still out on whether he is a hero or traitor.

It is one thing to reveal our government's domestic secret surveillance program. It is quite another to give our intelligence to enemies around the world.

Loosely defined, a "whistleblower" is someone who hurts the other political party; a "traitor" is someone who hurts yours.

What fascinates me about this story is the divergence of opinion and the strange bedfellows it has created. Loony liberal Michael Moore and Glenn Beck are actually in agreement, cheering Snowden on. Maybe it is a manifestation of their paranoia, or maybe they have a well-placed mistrust of government.

For now, liberals and libertarians are siding with Snowden, while RINOs and big-government Democrats (a.k.a. Washington) call for his head. When the whole of D.C.'s political class agrees on something, it scares me. Republicans dislike Obama because he is not Ronald Reagan, but they love their military-industrial contractor complex. Democrats are upset with Obama because he is not candidate Barack Obama.



Men seem more upset about internet and cell phone snooping than women—we have more browser history we'd like to remain secret. Women don't mind Obama surveillance; they think it's nice to have a man listen to them.

Snowden is scared because Obama's O-bots have a history of going after whistleblowers who defy him. They now like going after any media that questions them. Obama long ago ceded any moral high ground, Democrats only care about maintaining power and this threatens their power.

The media remains in the tank for Obama. Instead of backing Glenn Greenwald, the journalist in England who professionally broke the Snowden story, NBC's David Gregory suggested he be arrested. If the U.S. mainstream media did their job, foreign journalists would not be the ones continually breaking the stories.

The $1.8 billion NSA snooping facility was built in Mormon stronghold Utah. CBS is already blaming the NSA scandal on President Romney.

This drama is playing out like a John Grisham novel. If I were Snowden and heard buzzing overhead when I arrived in Ecuador, I wouldn't presume it to be mosquitoes. Drone Ranger Obama could be after another U.S. citizen abroad.

I am pulling for Snowden as long as he does not give away any of our major secrets -- assuming he has some. He has the moral high ground. Premised on hyped up post-9/11 fears, politicians since George W. Bush have built costly perpetual bureaucracies in Washington.

Let's not expect Russia or other countries to help our government when we were spying on them. Our PC establishment has captured and punished Martha Stewart and Paula Deen (Americans now value their food more than their freedoms), yet we could not avert the Boston bombing even when Russian authorities gave us a warning on the Chechnyan brothers.

Suddenly, upon Obama's appeal for extradition, Putin has become a civil libertarian. Obama, who boasted he was going to make other countries love us, looks hapless. If our government cannot free Justin Beiber's monkey from German authorities or get back the Super Bowl ring Putin stole from New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft, it's doubtful they can get Snowden from Russia.

Our government fears Snowden may be working for China. Because of that same government's lack of financial discipline, we all will be working for China in the future just to pay off U.S. debts.

Obama is AWOL while his O-bots try to distance him from all the scandals. He has a $60 million trip to Africa and his family spends the summer on Martha's Vineyard. I am not saying he does not deserve to do things with his daughters. Maybe for their birthdays he can give them the Jonas Brothers' phone and email records.

If this becomes a high and inside fastball thrown by Snowden to back the government off the plate and make it rethink what it is doing, then he has done us a service. Hopefully he makes the government rethink how they are treading on the Fourth Amendment and the Fourth Estate.

Perhaps the NSA, DOJ, Obama's White House and the IRS didn't violate any laws in doing what they did to us, but I find it more troubling that they did not have to.


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

C'mon, do the O-bots really want meth convicts selling Sudafed and toys peddled by pedophiles at Wal-Mart?

Orwellian Administration's Data Under-Mining of American Values

Ireland: Great beer, wee bit of entrepreneural opportunity

Why Obama Comparisons to Nixon are Fair

O-bots Abound

Commencement Reality Speech

ObamaCare: Pols Try to Weasel Out of Their Own Law

Weiner Again Dangles Possible Run for Mayor of NYC

Lil' Kim --- Like Father, like Son, Young 'Uns Can Get in Trouble

Stimulus Money for 'Shovel Ready' Projects --- Where Did It Go?

Our Petulant POTUS

Degrees Cost More but Are Worth Less: Three Ways to Fix Education

Sequestration Drama Queens

Pelosi's America and the Declaration of Dependence

The Statist of the Union Address

Amnesty and a Wink: Another Bad Idea Whose Time Has Come

Dems 'Never Let a Good Tragedy Go To Waste'

GOP's Feckless Response to Debt Ceiling Opportunity

Al-Gore-Jazeera and his global gouging

Is it more detrimental to taxpayers if Congress tries to do something--- or fails to?

Yoga: Don't Just Do Something --- Sit There

Looking Back at 2012

Day-O: Daylight Come and I Wanna Go Home

Whites on Rice --- senators grill would-be ambassador

Let's Get Fiscal

Hostess with the Least-est

Tax Collectors Find There is Gold in That Thar' Stripper Glitter

Sandy is reminder of all other broken Obama campaign promises

'Hope and Change' have become Smirk and Disdain

The Town Hall Debate: Angry Birds II

Boorish Biden needed to be put in time out

Media and Their Polls Declare Obama Winner

The United Nations: U.S. Attends Annual 'Despot Lecture' Series

Root of evil? Modern-day hitchhikers of virtue

You didn't build that' Speech Justifies Obama's Confiscation of Our Money

Anthony Weiner Reinserts Himself --- Into Politics

The 'Food Stamp President' Loves the Dependent, Mostly for Their Votes

The Fourth and Family

Fatherhood: Blame starts early if you allow it

Toothless Law Sets Doofus Free: The John Edwards Hung Jury

The Dangers of Government's Creeping Incrementalism

Affable dolt, highly excitable and eager to please, Biden does Obama's Bidding

First Person Forward

The Secret Service: Not that Secret about getting Serviced

Who are Really the Heroes?

GSA Vegas excesses? Bush's fault

Temptation of the Tebow

ObamaCare---Once They Get their Commerce Claws in Us, What's the Limit?

Obama's Campaign Theme: Taxation and Demonization

DNA and Me: Family Facts not Genome for Years

College for Everyone? Some Children Need to be Left Behind

Hope for the Hip-Hop-ocrisy at the Grammys

The Bain of Our Existence

Confusing Obama and 'Go Bama'

E-conning the Public, Washington Spending, and Other Shell Games

Looking Back at 2011

Kim Jong Il: North Koreans Love You Long Time --- it's Mandatory

What the MF-- Global?

The GOP Primaries: The Adultery of Hope

No Thankfulness at Thanksgiving for the OWS Crowd

Cain Mutiny, or a ‘High-tech Lynching?’

Slipping into an Envy-ocracy

An honest, if unconventional, assessment of those vying to wipe that smirk off Obama's smug mug

The Unwashed Masses Descend on New York City

Obama ‘pivots to jobs’ --- his

Washington: Blame No One. Do Something!

Our Debt Problems: Politicians Extend and Pretend

No Child Left --- To the Left

Dems' debt ceiling demagoguery

Golf Summit --- I Like Spike(s)

Nancy Pelosi Finally Demands a Weiner Probe

The porkulus political payback project

Schwarzenegger, please!

An ILL Wind for Business --- Boeing, Boeing Gone?

Osama's 72 Virgins --- and Obama's 72 Versions

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast