Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 25, 2010 13 Tamuz 5770

Has Obama Run Out of Luck?

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Has Obama Run Out of Luck?

Barack Obama used to be one lucky guy. His rise to power was nothing less than meteoric. In 1997, he was serving as a state senator from Illinois. By 2009, he was president of the United States.

Twelve years from the dusty prairie outpost of Springfield to the marbled hallways of the center of the free world? That ain't half bad.

Obama did it with intelligence, excellent management skills, a genuine sense of vision, and the ability to reach out to people and persuade them he was a true agent of change.

He was also darn lucky. He got past things that might have sunk an ordinary candidate, including his ties to Chicago crook Tony Rezko, '60s radical William Ayers and firebrand preacher Jeremiah Wright, as well as some mediocre debate performances and the loss of New Hampshire in the primaries.

But if luck is defined as what happens when hard work meets opportunity, then Obama was lucky. He was a superior candidate with a superior organization, and he couldn't have been luckier than running on a platform of change against John McCain and his platform of experience at a time when people were sick and tired of insiders and their same old ways.

According to Time magazine in June 2008, "Amongst the things that Barack Obama carries for good luck are a bracelet belonging to a soldier deployed in Iraq, a gambler's lucky chit, a tiny monkey god, and a tiny Madonna and child."

Some months later, somebody must have picked his pocket because, as president, he has run into the buzz saws of near economic collapse, worsening unemployment, a belligerent Iran, a confrontational North Korea, an environmental disaster in the Gulf of Mexico and a runaway general who never should have gotten his promotion in Afghanistan and then was forced to give it up, which is just what we needed in a war that looks more unwinnable every day.

Not even Obama's successes seem to get him much. This is from my June 11 Oval Office interview with him:

"You passed health care reform. It was historic. No president had ever done it. There could have been ticker-tape parades. They could have put you on a postage stamp," I said with a certain amount of hyperbole, and the president smiled. "Instead, there seems to be a sort of low-level anger and irritation; your poll numbers dropped. Do you ever ask yourself, 'What is it that these people want?'"

Obama gave a lengthy answer saying that even though the economy was improving, people were still worried about their jobs and wages.

"I guess what I'm saying here, Roger," he said, "is, over the last year and a half, we've had to do more than one thing at a time. We've had to save the economy immediately, but we've also had to make sure that we are solving some chronic problems. ... And you're not always going to get compliments for that when people have something that they're dealing with immediately in front of them."

"Do we expect too much from our presidents?" I asked him. "You not only have to run the country, win wars, protect the nation from terrorism and improve the economy, now you have to fix oil spills. Do we have an 'Iron Man' view of the presidency?"

"Look, I think that it is an enormous privilege to be elected president of the United States," he said. "And when you run and you win, one of the things that you should understand is that if there's a problem out there somewhere, directly or indirectly, people are going to hold you responsible at some level. So not only do I not mind that, but I welcome it.

"As Michelle always reminds me, I volunteered for this job."

He did. And he got it. And now all he needs is a little bit of luck.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate