Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 11, 2010 / 29 Sivan, 5770

E-mail violators strike quickly

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It started — so far as I can tell — at about 6 a.m. Monday. Someone, using an Internet gateway somewhere in the People's Republic of China, tried to access my Gmail e-mail account, one of the presumably millions of such accounts hosted by Google, the Internet search and services giant.

Four hours later, they gained, somehow, access to that e-mail account, and started to blitz the addresses listed in my e-mail address book.

"Dear friend," the e-mail began. "How are you doing now? I bought a notebook from the website last week [LINK DELETED]. I have received the product in time.

"Not only its quality is very good, but also its price is very low," the e-mail continued in rather spotty English. "They also sell phone, TV, handheld game player, motorcycle and musical instruments.

"They import products from USA, Japan and South Korea, and they import the bestsellers. They have a good reputation, and offer the good suggest to the customers for the purchasing.

"If you want to buy any product, it is the good choice to browse the website. It is conviced that you will get benefits and joys. "Greetings!"

I found out about this when several dozen e-mail attempts bounced back. I also had a few kind friends inquire as to whether my account had been "hacked," and one annoyed person say I had no reason to retain their contact information. Sorry about that!

After answering and assuaging those who needed either or both, I got to work. One friend wisely suggested I change my Gmail password. I did, and it's much "stronger," or harder to figure out, than the simple one-word password I'd used before. (Memo to other hackers: I've changed the passwords on all my web-based e-mail accounts.)

Turns out I'm not the only one, and it also seems that Gmail isn't the only service under attack. In the past week or so, two friends using other services — one was Microsoft Corp.'s Hotmail — were similarly hacked, with e-mails going out claiming they were stuck overseas and needed money to get home, and would I please wire some cash.

I knew those were scam e-mails, and I hope those people who received the blast message sent under my name would know that I would not recommend a shopping website no one has heard of, and most certainly not with such lousy grammar and syntax!

Google is on top of the situation, however. On March 24, Pavni Diwanji, Gmail's engineering director, posted a note to the Gmail blog (http://bit.ly/aCnMNA) about a service the firm is offering that detects suspicious activity on your account. If you happen to be traveling and are logging in from somewhere in China, that's one thing. But if you logged in from the U.S. at 7 a.m. and your account was logged on to at 10 a.m. from somewhere 5,000 miles away, that's suspicious, and Google will let you know.

What else can you do? Well, you can do something I've been loath to do for quite some time: deploy "strong" passwords with upper- and lowercase letters, numerals and symbols. No more easy stuff that someone can sniff out or guess at somehow. And, you can change those passwords every three to six months. It's a pain, but it's also a good means of protection.

You can also make sure your computer is free of malware and other "spying" programs: on my office and home Macs, I've run MacScan, a $30 program that finds stuff that shouldn't be on your Mac and eliminates it. On my home system, it found about 150 "cookies" which tracked activity and may have done other bad things. They're gone now.

Above all, be vigilant. Folks will try to take advantage of you with spam offers, e-mails claiming to offer "hot" videos of Megan Fox, or free music downloads. The links in such e-mails, especially if the come from someone you don't know, are invitations to computer invasions and e-mail hacking. Just say no: a Bobby Vinton MP3 mix isn't worth the risk.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles