Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 30, 2010 / 18 Tamuz 5770

In America, is it all still possible?

By Marybeth Hicks





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's a case to be made that a principal job of parents is to help our children toward an understanding of what is and is not possible.

Typically, the practical application of this notion sounds like this: "Sure, it's possible your iPod will still work after spending three months in a snowbank."

Or, "Make it onto 'American Idol' at 16? Um … sure … why not? Anything's possible."

I'm not one to crush a child's hopes with something as unreliable as mere reality.

Eventually, as they grow, children learn that possibilities can be manufactured with imagination, effort, planning and perseverance. In all four of our children, we've seen the spectrum of what is possible blossom into life goals that we secretly wonder how they'll ever accomplish.

Sexist as this will sound (read: please don't e-mail me to say I am sexist, because obviously I already know), when it comes to raising our only son, we think it's especially important to create two avenues of possibility for his future consideration: ministry and the military. We don't know if either one is right for him — only Jimmy can decide. We're only proposing that he evaluate whether he might be called to a life of service to G0d or to his country.

Both options require self-sacrifice, commitment and devotion to purposes beyond one's self-interest. They're not career paths so much as callings. But a boy isn't born knowing how to listen for G0d's call to ministry or for his country's call to arms.

Instead, boys are born knowing the sound of a crowd going wild at a sporting event, and this, they reckon, calls them to the Yankees or the Lakers or the Olympic team.

On Friday, to feed the fires of possibility, we're taking Jimmy to visit the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md.

Steeped in tradition and dedicated to "develop midshipmen morally, mentally and physically and to imbue them with the highest ideals of duty, honor and loyalty," there's no worthier purpose for any young man, military or civilian.

But the point of visiting the academy isn't just to introduce the idea of military service as an option. It's also to connect our son with the mission of safeguarding the liberty and way of life established for us 234 years ago this Sunday.

Military service might not be his calling, but protecting our freedom ought to be the duty of every American.

On the night before the Declaration of Independence was enacted, John Adams wrote to his beloved wife, Abigail, that the following day "ought to be commemorated, as the day of deliverance by solemn acts of devotion to G0d Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade … bells, bonfires and Illuminations from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward, forever more. … I am well aware of the toil and blood and treasure, that it will cost us to maintain this Declaration, and support and defend these States. Yet through all the gloom I can see the rays of ravishing light and glory. I can see that the end is more than worth all the means. And that posterity will triumph in that day's transaction, even altho we should rue it, which I trust in G0d we shall not."

As one of the architects of America's freedom, Adams knew too well the sacrifice it would take to see the Declaration of Independence to its ultimate conclusion: a new nation where liberty, not tyranny, would prevail.

But Adams also knew that posterity could not inherit a benefit it didn't understand. That's why he also said, "Children should be educated and instructed in the principles of freedom."

If we promote in our nation's children the dignity and honor inherent in the service of our great country, we might stave off the unthinkable possibility that the freedom won for us by Adams and company could slip away and be forever lost.

This weekend, as we're celebrating our independence in the manner Adams envisioned, with pomp and fireworks and parades, I'm grateful for the men and women throughout our history, right up to this day, who answered the call to protect and defend our freedom.

Thanks to them, we're able to imagine that in the United States of America, anything is possible.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of more than 20 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2009, Marybeth Hicks