Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 4, 2010 / 22 Sivan

The (punishing) sound of music

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | For the first time in my life, I fantasized about stealing a car. I didn't plan on taking it far. Hopefully the officers would note that in the comments section of the police report when they arrested me.


We were filling up at a gas station and truck stop plaza, when a fellow pulled curbside to the convenience store and swaggered inside. He left his car running and his sound system blasting.


Vibration from the bass rippled waves in the concrete. Hoses to every gas pump rocked wildly. The sign for the station that previously shot high into the night now crimped at a sharp right angle in acute pain.


The trunk of the offending car pulsated. The windows vibrated. The hood shook and the rooftop buckled and heaved like an active volcano. Dogs cried and small children began to howl.


It would have been a genuine public service for someone to slip into the driver's seat and drive the offending vehicle around to the back of the station. Where was a Boy Scout when I needed him?



And then I asked myself: Why not me? Why not here? Why not now?


The answer came quickly -- because the guy could catch me, strap me into his passenger seat and force me to continue listening until my ears bled and my eyes crossed.


Held hostage by deafening decibels, I couldn't help but think of ways to seek revenge. (I can be extremely menacing behind the protection of rolled up windows and within the safety of power lock doors.)


I thumbed through my CD album. I'd read that officials and chaperones in California have been using Bacharach and Hal David tunes to bust up inappropriate moves on the dance floors. How would you like a little "Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head" at 300 decibels, Mr. Music Man? That's right, just walk on by. You got it, mister, one less bell to answer. Unfortunately I didn't have any Bacharach.


Maybe I could bombard him with some AC/DC -- the government used their music to wear down detainees. Bad idea, the guy would probably love it. Besides, I was fresh out.


I had Michael Buble (never to be used in such a fashion), assorted Motown (absolutely not), and Johnny Cash. "Ring of Fire" was a possibility. No, what I really needed was Barry Manilow.


A neighborhood in Australia has been clearing their streets of loud cars and unruly teens by blasting "Mandy" and "Weekend in New England." Again, I was fresh out.


But wait, I did have some Mozart. A school in England used Mozart on badly behaving children in special detentions. The headmaster claimed it calmed students down and that the number of disruptive pupils dropped by 60 percent.


You may have zipped into the station a bad boy, Sonny, but with a little Mozart, you're gonna roll out of here like a pussy cat.


The husband finished filling the tank, jumped back in the driver's seat and yelled, "WHAT HAVE YOU GOT TO WORK WITH?"


"Mozart," I said.


"I'VE GOT A BETTER IDEA. LET'S ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS AND CRANK UP SOME TALK RADIO."


The man is a genius. Now hard of hearing, but a genius.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles