Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Thinking outside the lunch box

By Jim Mullen


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Are school lunches making our kids obese? I don't know a lot about school lunches because I carried my lunch to school for 12 years — so did almost every kid in my class. And the lunch I brought wasn't very healthy. For years, I made cream-cheese-and-olive sandwiches for myself. Then I graduated to peanut butter and jelly, then baloney and cheese.


Now that most kids get their lunch at the school cafeteria, I hear the school lunches are killing them. They're making them fat and giving them diabetes. Doctors say 10-year-olds have high cholesterol because the school lunch menu is heavy on things like pizza and cheeseburgers, tacos and fried chicken, which is pretty much the same kind of food choices you pass while driving your kids to school. It's not as if they are suddenly eating lentils and Brussels sprouts after they leave school.


"Oh, mom, let's stop at the International House of Soy and Grass-fed, Free-range, Cage-free Cattle."


"Dad, can we have a McBean sprout sandwich on whole wheat bread in the doctor-recommended portion size? Can we? Can we?"


"No, we had that last week. Let's all go get some KBSC, Kentucky Baked Skinless Chicken. They make sure their portions are no bigger than a deck of cards and I love their fresh greens with yogurt dressing."


"Oh, look — there's a Broccoli Hut. They make it ten different ways. And you can get baked potatoes without any butter or sour cream!


Have you ever seen an ad for a tomato on TV? An apple or a carrot? Lettuce? Cabbage? Chiquita used to advertise bananas. Is anything else in the grocery store's produce department pushed as much as sugar-filled breakfast cereal and soda? As much as frozen pizza or breakfast candy bars?


They may not be perfect, but when I read that schools lunches are making our kids fat I wonder — when did it become the school's job to make sure our kids were eating their vegetables? When did that stop being the parent's job? Even if school children are eating ice cream sundaes and fried cheese sticks for lunch, the parents feed them breakfast and dinner.


We all know that when we see a dog snap at someone's hand or jump into a visitor's lap that it's the owner's fault. The dog hasn't been properly trained or the owner has spoiled it. No one blames the dog, it doesn't know any better. The same is true with children. I was in my cardiologist's office a while back waiting to take a stress test. Opposite me were a mom and her 12-year-old son. He had to weigh 200 pounds. While they were waiting to see the doctor, she would hand him one treat after another. She acted like this was the best possible thing she could do for him. Even if he ate salad without dressing for lunch at school everyday, this kid was going to have a weight problem. I foresee them cutting a hole in the side of his house to take him to the hospital in ten to 15 years. Thanks, mom. Love you, too.


I saw an ad for a soft drink the other day that bragged they had stopped using high fructose corn syrup as a sweetener and gone back to using cane sugar. They act as if drinking a cup of vitamin-free, refined cane sugar is about the healthiest thing you can do for yourself. How long will it be before you hear one child tell another, "A soda a day keeps the doctor away"?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."


Previously:


What's good for the goose is good for the scanner
Newspapers will survive, but network TV?
A really big show of generation gaps
When pigs flu
The reports of our decline have been greatly exaggerated
Mergers and admonitions
Invest in gold: little, yellow, different
Stuck in Folsom Penthouse
Collecting karma
Setting loose the creative ‘juice’
It's all in the numbers
You're damaging your brain with practical skills
The real rat pack
The unspeakable luxury of the Park-O-Matic
Gross-ery shopping



© 2009, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles