Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Be neighborly

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) The average dual-career couple works a combined 18.2 hours a day.

Urban sprawl is creating longer commutes — approximately 25 minutes per day.

People spend less than 15 minutes per day doing outside chores and gardening compared to more than 3 hours watching TV or movies and surfing on the Internet.

The average person or family has friends over for dinner about 45 percent less often than they did in the 70s.

In 1926, the first electric automated garage door opener was invented by C. G. Johnson, beginning the drive-in-and-shut-the-door method of entering your home.

The increased number of fenced backyards, coupled with the disappearance of front porches and verandas, has privatized residences more than ever.


TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Meet a neighbor you've never met before. Simply knock on the door and introduce yourself. Take over something you've baked or grown in your garden, or invite them to your house for a beverage or a snack.

2. Make yourself more available to your neighbors.

3. Mow your front lawn, wash your car, go for a walk, or play with your children outside. Or, if you see neighbors doing the same, go out and visit.

4. Plan a neighborhood yard sale or a block party.

5. Write a quarterly neighborhood newsletter.


YOU MATTER

Does your mailman know your neighbors better than you do? It's not enough to just drive by and wave to neighbors from your car window. To get to know your neighbors, you need to have personal interaction with them. But these days, people spend more time indoors watching TV and surfing the Internet than they do outside playing catch, taking walks, and talking to their neighbors. Change that pattern… Be counterculture. Remember, you have to be a good neighbor to have a good neighbor.

We live in neighborhoods, but can we really call them communities? The word community somewhat implies a togetherness, a bond, or awareness for others. But it seems like in the days of our high stress, fast-paced lives, we have forgotten about the beauty of what it means to all be in this together.

More to the point, the word "neighbor" is defined as "a person who lives near another; a person who shows kindliness or helpfulness toward fellow humans." This begs the question: "Are you a good neighbor?"

As Julie Limmell of Washington, D.C., realized, "I guess I at least need to know my neighbors' names in order to consider myself a good neighbor."

Julie is not alone. Many people do not know the names of their neighbors. I am not sure if I created this theory or not, but, besides our busy lives, I believe it is the electric garage door that deserves a lot of the blame. We get up and get ready for our day, walk into our garages, get in our cars, open the garage door, and off we go. And we finish the day with the exact opposite routine. We are always behind a door, a wall, or a piece of glass, never in a position for a happy run-in with our neighbors.

"My husband and I have lived in our neighborhood for almost 3 years," said Julie. "We both have full time jobs, so we are basically at home for breakfast, dinner, and sleep. A couple months ago, I came to the sad realization that I felt lonely when I was at home, so I had an idea..."

Julie and her husband realized that part of their issue was that they didn't know any of their neighbors. Not one thing about them. They lack a sense of family...a community.

"We decided that, with summer here, we are going to throw a block party," shared Julie. "We are going to move our barbeque to the front yard and buy a bunch of hot dogs and hamburgers for a little cook out."

Not only did they come up with a simple, yet effective way to bring the neighborhood together, but they have also gotten everyone involved in the planning.

"We create an invitation that we put in everyone's mailbox," said Julie. "Not only was it to invite them, but to also ask them to bring specific items. Some people were asked to bring something to drink and others were asked to bring snacks. We wanted to involve them in the whole process."

The response they have received is amazing. Nine of the 10 houses they invited have RSVP'ed and are bringing their items.

"I am not really sure what to expect, but I am really excited about this coming weekend," shared Julie. "I just hope that we can all come together and have a good time. Hopefully we can all be friends...and finally be neighbors. I will let you know how it goes."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Donate blood and bone marrow
Protect yourself with Internet safety
Eat healthy
Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
Respect the disabled
Turn off your TV
Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles