Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Get involved with foster kids

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) More than 510,000 children are in foster care in the U.S. — their average age is 10.

Approximately 46 percent of children are in non-relative foster family homes, 24 percent are in relative foster homes, 17 percent are in group homes or institutions, 3 percent are in pre-adoptive homes, and 10 percent are in other placement types.

40 percent of the children are white, 32 percent are black, and 19 percent are Hispanic.

The average length of stay for all children currently in foster care is 2.4 years.

16 percent of the children in foster care have been in foster care more than 3 years.

More than 51,000 children are adopted annually from the foster care system.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Find a foster care facility near you. Contact them and ask how you can help.

2. Sign up as a volunteer and get your family and friends involved.

3. Be prepared. Volunteers at a foster care facility can be involved in everything from outside physical activities to arts and crafts.

4. Become a foster parent or adopt a child.

Children in foster care have been abused, abandoned, and/or neglected. Many will not return to live with their parents or even with a relative. While we wish the statistics were different, it is up to us to provide the love and support these children need. They didn't choose to be placed in foster care, but we can choose to step into the gap and make a difference. Who taught you how to ride a bike? Swim? Or prepare for a math test? Whether you remember or not, those people cared...and so can you.


YOU MATTER

"Joseph has changed my life," confessed Steven Hodges, of Portland, Ore.

These are amazing words when you understand the back story. Steven is a 40-year-old corporate exec with everything going for him — a good family, lots of friends, a solid job, and a relatively peaceful upbringing. Joseph is a 15-year-old foster child. Actually, Joseph has been in foster care for most of his life. His parents were alcoholics; taking him to parties at the age of 2 and having him sleep in random beds in random guest rooms because they were unable to drive home. Steven and Joseph couldn't be more different.

"I first met Joseph when he was 9 years old," said Steven. "I volunteered through my church to visit a foster home during the holidays. It was something I will never forget. Foster homes are overloaded with children during the holidays. It breaks your heart to see it, but you can't just ignore it."

Six years ago, by a stroke of luck or a power bigger than most can comprehend, Steven and Joseph were introduced to one another. And it has changed both of their lives.

"I will never forget the first couple hours with him," shared Steven. "He was so love-starved. He was hard, but so soft in the middle. And he had this sparkle in his eye that caught my attention. I had no idea what I was getting myself into."

Steven fell in love with Joseph. He learned more about his life ... the hardships, the injustices, the abuse. He learned about his parents and his brother and sister, whom he hasn't seen since he was 5 years old. He learned about things he thought never happened in the real world.

"Looking back, I can't believe how quickly the tables turned. I was 34 and he was 9. I was supposed to be the one blessing his life, but I could not have been more wrong," said Steven. "I made a decision to come visit him once a week...possibly the best decision I've ever made."

Steven and Joseph became friends. Well, at times it was friends, other times it was brothers, and yet other times it was a father-son relationship (with the son doing most of the mentoring).

"In the beginning it was a little awkward, but it quickly became my favorite day of the week," admitted Steven. "We helped each other. I made sure he knew how much he was loved, and he made sure to always teach me a lesson about gratitude and having a positive attitude."

So often, when people get involved in making a difference in the world (outside of themselves), they find that the biggest difference that is being made is right inside their own heart.

"This boy had nothing when I met him," said Steven, "at least to most standards. But he had something that every single person in the world wants ... an appreciation and gratitude for every single day he gets to go to sleep and wake up to a new day. That's it...that simple. And it changed my life completely. He has taught me about joy and peace, and I can never thank him enough for it. I mean, it was never supposed to be about me in the first place. But now it is about 'us' … and that's a magical thing."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Be neighborly
Donate blood and bone marrow
Protect yourself with Internet safety
Eat healthy
Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
Respect the disabled
Turn off your TV
Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles