Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters:

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Over 699,000 sworn officers and almost 318,000 civilian officers protect and serve the citizens of the U.S.

Over 14 million arrests occur annually for all offenses, except traffic violations.

Each year:

Over 59,000 officers are assaulted while performing their duties.

Over 57 are killed — their average age is 37.

Over 23 million people are victimized by violent and property crimes.

There has been a 58 percent decline in violent crimes and 52 percent decline in property crimes over the last 12 years.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

>1. When you see law enforcement officers in uniform, walk up and thank them for the job they do in keeping you and your community safe.

2. Pull your car to your right and out of the way when you hear a siren or see a police car approaching with its lights on.

3. Organize your friends, co-workers, neighborhood, or child's classroom to create and deliver a thank-you card to your local law enforcement agency, police station, or town sheriff.

4. Donate to law enforcement benefits and causes.

5. Support or start a Neighborhood Watch program in your community.

6. Always report crime.

Law enforcement officers make an incredible difference in your community. Every day they put their lives on the line to protect you, your neighbors, and your loved ones. Show appreciation, thank them for their valuable service, and tell them the impact they have on the lives of the people in your community. Who knows? Maybe the next officer who pulls you over will be the one to whom you gave the thank-you note … just a thought.

YOU MATTER

Does it make you nervous when you are driving down the road and you see a police car behind you? What about if you are stopped at a traffic light next to a police car? Do you look and smile or just try to ignore their existence? How about this one … do you pull your car over to the right when you see a police car coming with its lights and sirens on?

It seems that society does not appreciate law enforcement has much as it should. These men and women risk their lives every single day for us … total strangers. Yet, we have a hard time looking at them and smiling to acknowledge them for their service, and we certainly don't like pulling over to the right when we see them coming lights and sirens a blaring.

This was the case for Julie Wussow of Colorado Springs, Colo.

"It seems like every other week, the media covers a story about a police officer abusing their power, so it kind of starts to put a bitter taste in your mouth," admitted Julie. "So, instead of feeling safer around police officers, I have always felt threatened by them in a weird way."

Unfortunately, for everyone, local news oftentimes doesn't cover the feel good stories. They lack sensationalism and are considered "boring content" by most TV executives. But Julie's story is one that not only changed her views, but might also shed some light on everyone's perspective of the men and women in law enforcement.

"My husband was gone on a business trip, and I was home alone and in bed," shared Julie, "when I heard someone trying to break into our house. I was so scared that ran and hid in our closet with the phone and immediately called 9-1-1. I had to whisper to the dispatcher because I was afraid the burglar would hear me. I was completely freaked out."

Fortunately, two police cars were at the residence within 10 minutes and caught a man who had broken into Julie's home. He was immediately arrested and taken away … nothing was stolen and nobody got hurt.

"It was a night I will never forget," said Julie. "It still haunts me, but thank G-d that the police were able to get to my house so quickly and did their job like true professionals. I am so grateful for what they did."

And, interestingly enough, the story doesn't end there.

"My view of law enforcement officers has totally changed," said Julie. "Now I go out of my way to wave to them, I always try to get out of their way as quickly as possible … heck, I have even baked them cookies and taken them to the police station."

Sometimes major life circumstances can have a profound impact on our views, opinions, choices, and behavior. This was clearly the case for Julie. It's just too bad that our media doesn't cover more stories like this. Law enforcement officers matter. If you've ever had to rely on one, you would know. Julie certainly does ... and we are all grateful for that.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Get involved with foster kids
Be neighborly
Donate blood and bone marrow
Protect yourself with Internet safety
Eat healthy
Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
Respect the disabled
Turn off your TV
Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles