Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 16, 2008 / 13 Sivan 5768

The thrill is gone

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My sweet, old grandfather came down from heaven recently, just in time to join me at the airport. He'd been gone for years, so a plane trip had him excited.


"Why aren't you wearing a suit and tie?" he asked. "This is an airplane, not a bus."


Planes aren't a big deal anymore, Gramps.


"Pooh. You fly in the sky, it's a big deal."


We pulled up to the curb.


"What, no one to take our luggage?"


No, Gramps. You kind of do it yourself.


We entered, and found a check-in machine.


"Oh, G-d, you forgot the tickets?"


No, Gramps. You kind of do it yourself.


We printed our boarding passes. Grandpa did not believe these flimsy, inky things could get you on a plane.


"A ticket is thick and has its own case."


I shook my head. We lugged our bags to the scale. I reached in my pockets.


"What are you doing?" Gramps asked.


We have to pay to check bags.


"Ha! Don't be silly. That's why the plane is so big. It has a huge area called 'cargo.' "


I know, Gramps. But they're charging now.


"Charging? Pooh. Nonsense. I won't pay."


He puffed his chest out. I sighed and paid $15 for his bag, $15 for mine and another $25 for a second bag. We hadn't gotten on the plane yet, and we were down $55.


We approached security.


Eat, drink and be merry?


"Driver's license?" Gramps complained to the TSA agent. "Why do you need my driver's license? I'm flying, not driving."


"How do we know it's you," he was asked?


"Because I have the ticket. That's my name."


They took Grandpa to the extra security line. He had to take off his shoes, belt, jacket, sweater, tie and hat. His small carry-on went through the X-ray machine and was immediately seized by two TSA guards.


"What's this?" they demanded.


"My flask," Grandpa said. "I like a little schnapps now and then."


"It has to go," they said.


"Unhand that, or I'll break your arm."


They took Grandpa to extra-extra security.


A half-hour later, after he'd been probed, X-rayed and wanded, we walked to the gate. His favorite flask was gone, as was his tube of toothpaste.


We better grab a sandwich, I said. It's a long flight.


"Don't be silly," he said. "They'll have a wonderful meal for us. Airplanes serve nice food."


You kind of do it yourself now, Gramps.


"You're joking. No food?"


We boarded the plane.


Where's the dress code?


"Who's that guy?" Grandpa asked.


He's the flight attendant.


"Come on, he's a man!" Grandpa said, laughing. "And don't you mean stewardess?"


You call them flight attendants now.


"No more pretty young ladies?'


Sorry.


"Why is he just sulking there?"


He's probably had his pay cut four times in the last five years. He's tiring of working for nothing and being told he's lucky he even has a job.


"So he won't be brining us our champagne?"


Uh, yeah, about that. We're in coach.


"So? They serve drinks in coach."


If you pay for them.


"Pooh. Nonsense. You don't need money on a plane."


Actually, Gramps, you do. You need it to buy a snack. You need it to buy headphones for a movie. You need it for certain drinks.


"That's why I brought a flask!"


Sorry.


We found our seats. Grandpa took out his transistor radio.


"I want to hear the baseball game."


"Sir, shut that off," a flight attendant told him. "You're endangering the plane."



"Pooh. It's a radio, not a bomb." Grandpa went to extra-extra-extra security.


By the time he returned, he looked sore, beat and exhausted. What was once a thrill was now a chore. As the plane lifted off, he looked around at people in sweat suits and tank tops, people putting their bare feet up, people paying five dollars for some carrot sticks and pretzels, and resentful flight attendants going through the motions.


"That's it," he said. "I'm getting out." And as we reached the clouds, he did.


If only we all had that option.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2008, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles