Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 5, 2006 / 9 Sivan, 5766

Eating my way through the years

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I recently celebrated a birthday. Not with tons of presents. Not with a blowout party. I celebrated my birthday the way I always celebrate my birthday.

I ate.

I ate from the moment I woke up until the moment I fell asleep. I ate here, there and everywhere. I ate at home, in restaurants, on the street, in a movie theater.

I had but one rule.

If it's fattening, I'm swallowing.

This is not how I operate the rest of the year. The rest of the year, I am like you. I consider the carbs, the calories, the sugar, the fat. I try to stay disciplined. When I break the rules, I feel guilty.

Which is why I love my birthday. The only guilt I show is if I miss a food group, such as peanut butter cups.

Some people say they can "feel" another year coming on?

I can taste it.

CUCKOO FOR COCOA PUFFS
Let me give you my menu. I will begin the day with the most indulgent kind of breakfast. No egg whites or plain oatmeal here. I'll go for chocolate chip pancakes, waffles with ice cream, Cocoa Puffs cereal and cheesy omelets with mushroom sauce.

All at once.

Mid-morning I will try one of those froufrou coffee drinks that I roll my eyes at all year long. Something with syrup and whipped cream and colors normally found in a box of crayons.

And then comes lunch.

Lunch can be great pizza. Or a disgustingly indulgent sandwich (a Reuben or a hero). French fries will be somewhere in the mix. Or onion rings. Something greasy. Dessert will be ordered. Cake or pie.

Did I say candied popcorn?

Donate to JWR

I love that stuff. I never eat it. But on my birthday, it's everywhere. This past birthday I had the popcorn-cashews-almonds-honey version and the popcorn-macadamia-nuts-white-chocolate version. I stuff handful after handful. I take a break, but only for . . .

Ice cream. I never eat ice cream. I used to love it. It doesn't love me. But on my birthday, we call a truce. I'll hit a Cold Stone Creamery or a Haagen-Dazs and get the flavors and toppings that I only stare at the rest of the year.

And then dinner.

Dinner can be pasta with fattening sauce or fried chicken or enchiladas or even, yes, even fast food. I swore off fast food years ago.

But I make an exception.

And then more dessert.

A HAPPY BIRTHDAY FOR EVERYONE
Now, I know what you're thinking. Don't you get sick? I used to. But I developed a technique. You order everything, but you only eat a bit. The main thing is to taste it, to remember the flavors you've denied yourself for so long.

And once you splurge, you don't crave it so much the rest of the year. You had your taste. You had your reminder. You recalled the cold delicious slime of a milkshake or the perfection of melted icing on a Cinnabon. It is safe in your memory bank.

And when you want some during the in-between months, you know your time is coming. You won't be denied forever. At worst, you are 364 days away from everything.

Which is the beauty of this ritual. That, and the fact that you can do it with other people. I'm very popular on my birthday. Who doesn't want to chow down at a trough?

So if you're like me, too old for toys, embarrassed by presents and fighting every day to stay in some kind of shape, may I recommend the birthday binge? Just remember to hit all of your food groups: sweet, fried, fatty, juicy, breaded, fudged . . .

And Tums.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2006, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles