Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 23, 2005 / 16 Sivan, 5765

Beauty in nose of the beholder

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Don't touch that Botox! Slap down that scalpel! Grapefruit is on the way!

Yes, this just in: Women who smell like grapefruit look younger to men. About six YEARS younger!

Men who smell like grapefruit, on the other hand, look like their same, sad selves.

That's what they've determined at the Smell and Taste Institute in Chicago, where the admittedly offbeat director, Dr. Alan Hirsch, decided to pose the probing question: What makes a woman smell young? (But not TOO young, like Tootsie-Pop breath.)

"If you think about how you decide how old somebody is, you look at how they're dressed, their speech pattern, wrinkles, the color of the teeth," says Hirsch, "but smells have never been considered."

And yet, smells obviously play a big role in how we perceive people. Notes psychiatrist Carl Wahlstrom: "If two people are walking by and one kind of smells clean and fresh and the other one smells of dried urine, it's going to conjure up different reactions."

Er...yes.

So, anyway, Hirsch decided to try dousing several middle-aged subjects with all sorts of different smells (none of them dried urine) to see whether any of these affected the way onlookers judged their age.

Broccoli, banana, vanilla, cucumber, cologne, lavender, spearmint extracts — "none of them had any impact," says Hirsch. But when he tried the grapefruit scent — eureka! (As opposed to what everyone probably said when he tried that broccoli scent: "You reek-a!")

"The bottom line is that the odor [of grapefruit] changed the man's perception of women, but it had no impact on women's perception of either men OR women," says Hirsch. That's either because men are more easily influenced by a woman's scent, or women are better at guessing ages. Or both.

Me, I just wanted to see what grapefruit could do for me, in MY middle age. So I did what any woman in her right mind would do: I ran out to the street and started asking male strangers, "Hey, how old do you think I am?"

While the responses varied wildly, from mid-20s to mid-40s, all the men sounded kind of nervous, like maybe I was going to belt 'em if they upset me.

So then I got a grapefruit, rubbed it all over myself and tried the experiment again.

The responses were exactly the same except that this time, I was so sticky, I didn't care.

When I got back to my desk I called Dr. Hirsch and announced: "The grapefruit had no effect!"

"They didn't get close enough to you," he said of the sniffers.

Donate to JWR


NOTE TO SELF: Belt Dr. Hirsch.

The other problem, he added, was that I did the experiment wrong. I had confronted the men directly. When Hirsch conducted his experiment, he had men greet the women and then walk a ways off. Only THERE did the guys discreetly jot down their age guesses, so as to avoid flattering or offending the ladies.

Okay. So I did it all wrong, I humiliated myself on the streets of New York and now my fingers are sticking to the computer keys.

On the upside, I've got a leftover grapefruit for my lunch.

Better still, I have learned a great lesson: Next time I want to look younger and more attractive I will NOT dab on Broccoli for Her.

Nor any actual toilet water.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy is a columnist for The New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2005, NY Daily News

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles