Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 2, 2005 / 24 Iyar, 5765

Europeans halt EU's ‘non-debate’ with their hands

By Debra J. Saunders

Debra J. Saunders
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Our betters in Europe learned two new words this week: non and nee.

In soundly rejecting a proposed European Union constitution, French and Dutch voters told EU bureaucrats in Brussels that they don't like what they see.

When the French voted non, Eurocrats announced that the French vote wouldn't change anything — despite a rule that required all EU countries to support the new constitution before it takes effect. No doubt they figured the French Parliament could step in and vote the right way, so the people's vote wouldn't count. Now, with two countries saying "no," and the Dutch Prime Minister Jan Peter Balkenende pledging to respect the popular vote, no might actually mean no.

From the get-go, ratification was supposed to be a done deal. Nine countries dutifully approved the pact.

Figure that pro-EU French President Jacques Chirac never considered that he actually had to sell the constitution to his constituents. After all, it was the voters' duty to cede to their leaders' better judgment, n'est-ce pas?

Yes, there had been grumblings from the voters, but for years the Eurocrats successfully had ignored them. Reasonable fears that unfettered immigration could depress wages in established economies or tear their social fabric? Anxiety over how the admission of Turkey to the EU might open the door to new immigrants who oppose Dutch or French values? Calls, when the document was being drafted, that the new charter recognize Europe's Judeo-Christian roots? Eurocrats turned a deaf ear to all such suggestions.

After all, Brussels knew best. They didn't need to listen to the European electorate.

At least, not until it was too late. Or as Laurens Jan Brinkhorst, the Dutch economy minister, told The New York Times, "The non-debate of the past 20 years cannot be overcome in three weeks.''

Non-debate? See how the EU imposed its views beyond its mandate to unite European economies. There was no need for continental criminal sentencing, but the Eurocrats were power happy. They went way beyond prohibiting capital punishment. As a 2000 EU paper noted, "It is well established that long-term imprisonment, and above all imprisonment for life, fails to achieve its criminal policy's goals, unless relevant measures are adopted in order to enable the return of the prisoner to social life at the appropriate moment."

Note the language: "It is well established" — that shuts off debate and demands consensus. Note that it's a given that a criminal, regardless of the offense, must return to society. No worries if a country disagrees. Dissenting views don't count. They're not "well established."

No wonder, then, that Europeans saw the EU as a threat to their countries' individual identity and autonomy. As the Economist editorialized, "Every country has some complaint about policies being foisted on it from Brussels." Wary voters, of course, want to put the brakes on the EU's runaway powers. Voting no was the only way they knew how.

So what happens now? San Francisco's Howard Leach, until recently the U.S. ambassador to France, explained that the proposed constitution "does not change very much. It was not a major expansion of the EU's powers." The constitution — which comes in the form of a treaty — would create a European president and EU foreign minister. Failure to ratify the constitution means the current rules stand.

One exception, as reported by The New York Times: The constitution did pass more judicial authority to the EU.

Donate to JWR


Hoover Institution fellow Dennis Bark spent the five weeks leading up to the vote in France. Bark is angered at the non vote and convinced that the new constitution changed so little that a non vote was counterproductive.

An oui vote was in the French interest, Bark said, because, "The only way they can get out of this welfare system, which is their own invention, is to blame it on the European Union." Which suggests another problem the EU faced. Chirac tried to assure young voters that under the new constitution, the EU wouldn't undermine Gallic employment law by introducing employer-friendly reforms. Rot. That's what the EU is supposed to do — make Europe an environment amenable for hiring workers in over-regulated, high-unemployment nations like France and Germany.

Readers of this column are familiar with my frequent use of the phrase "Our Betters in Europe." I don't use the term to denigrate Europeans, but instead to mock those — European, American and the occasional U.S. Supreme Court justice — who suggest that Americans should look to European elites for their superior judgment in foreign policy or criminal justice matters.

Now, it is clear that our Betters in Europe may be, as their acolytes suggest, Better Than We Are. But get this: Even Europeans don't bow to them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment JWR contributor Debra J. Saunders's column by clicking here.

Debra J. Saunders Archives

© 2005, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles