Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 23, 2005 /16 Sivan, 5765

Mom as slumber-party policewoman

By Marybeth Hicks



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The call comes with breathless excitement on a Saturday afternoon. My eldest daughter, playing at the home of a new friend, speaks quickly into the phone. "Mom, is it OK if we have a sleepover? Laura's mom says 'yes' if you say 'yes.'?"

The pressure is on. One mom already has agreed to this impromptu slumber party. If I say no, I'm the "mean mom" who spoils all the fun. "Pulleeeeeeze," she begs.

She has never stayed overnight at a friend's house. My instincts tell me this may not be a good idea, but I cave. "Let me talk to Laura's mom," I say.

"Does that mean 'yes'?" She is so hopeful.

"Yes, it means yes. Just let me talk to her mom." Squeals of glee peal through my phone's receiver. She can't get Laura's mom until they do the dance of joy in Laura's kitchen. At last, we mothers connect and determine the logistics for Sunday morning. My daughter doesn't even ask to get back on the phone to say goodbye or goodnight. She's gone.

That was more than seven years ago, but it's a scene that has been repeated hundreds of times since. For reasons I can't fathom or remember from my own childhood, virtually every playtime includes a period of premeditated extension. Rather than enjoy an afternoon with friends, my children spend at least an hour begging, bargaining and berating me to let them host camping expeditions in our basement.

Their friends always want to stay at our house, but I'm pretty sure I know why. First, my children have batteries that recharge automatically, so it's a good bet our guests will find themselves bouncing on a pogo stick in my basement at 3 a.m. until I pull the proverbial plug.

Also, I buy junky, sugary cereal. Our pantry is a child's dream come true. Children want to wake up in my home because they know they'll eat Lucky Charms or Trix or Cocoa Puffs for breakfast. Invariably, when they do, they'll talk about the healthy whole-wheat cereals they're forced to eat at home.

Nearly all of my children's sleepovers take place at our house, a fact I contemplated at 6 last Saturday morning. Rather than sleep in as I had planned, I lay in bed listening to the sound of muffled giggles drifting through my open window. My youngest daughter and her two slumber-party pals were out on the driveway in their pajamas making murals with sidewalk chalk.

(Since waking up, they already had bounced on the trampoline, created a sleeping-bag fort in her closet and annoyed my son by poking him in the face as he slept. Isn't this what sleepovers are all about?)

I think the real reason we're usually the hosts for sleepovers falls under the category of "risk management." When the slumber party is at my home, I lurk around every corner making sure the games of "Truth or Dare" can't get too daring. I listen for the sound of prank phone calls. I monitor the movie choices. I even have been known to park myself in a chair in the dark until the guests have settled down and started snoring. Basically, I'm the slumber-party police — a role I take on to protect my children from late-night lapses in good judgment.

Sadly, the potential pitfalls of a seemingly harmless childhood adventure such as sleeping at a friend's house aren't just limited to "Truth or Dare" and sleep deprivation. The dangers are as horrific as the headlines in any given newspaper on any given day.

Donate to JWR


While I still permit the occasional sleepover at the homes of families we know well, I have friends who have decreed slumber parties are an unnecessary risk for their children that they're simply not willing to take. They would rather be "mean moms" who say "no" than spend a sleepless night worrying and wondering what might be happening to their son or daughter in someone else's home.

As sometimes happens, that first sleepover all those years ago didn't turn out according to plan. Our phone rang at 11 that night. When I answered it, I heard my daughter choke back her tears and say, "Mom, I have a stomachache."

"I'll be right over," I said.

As my headlights pierced the darkness on my way to pick up my daughter, I hoped I hadn't misjudged the situation. She hadn't said much over the phone; my imagination about what might have happened wandered to places I didn't want it to go.

When I pulled into her friend's driveway, she was waiting by the door with Laura's mother, whose warm smile told me she appreciated an old-fashioned case of homesickness when she saw one.

On the ride home, I asked a few probing questions and concluded that nothing was really wrong. By 11:40, my daughter was sitting in our kitchen eating corn bread and drinking milk, telling me about the events of the day, which basically were wonderful. Laura and her family were nice. They had pot roast for dinner. She even got to see where they buried their dead pets, which was especially cool.

It was just that at the end of the day, she wanted to sleep at home — which was just fine with me.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of 18 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2005, Marybeth Hicks