Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 15, 2005 / 8 Sivan, 5765

The moral light of Paris Hilton

By Tony Blankley


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | For those with a gloomy view of our civilization's future, a small beam of light has broken through the clouds. Paris Hilton has announced she plans to retire from public life and raise a family.

According to the Associated Press, the Zsa Zsa Gabor of our times has observed that "I don't enjoy going out anymore. It's such a pain. It's everyone saying, 'Let's do a deal! Can I have a picture?" I'm just, like, "These people are such losers. I can't believe I used to love doing this."

Out of the mouths of babes.

Translated into non-Valley talk English, Ms. Hilton, suddenly wise beyond her years, has rejected materialism, the culture of celebrity and the moral shortcomings of the demimonde found in chic urban clubs.

Delving further into her study of proper behavior, she firmly endorsed the age-old advice of experienced parents that it is unwise to associate with people who frequent sordid places or indulge in hedonistic practices. Gertrude Himmelfarb, Rev. Jerry Falwell and The Heritage Foundations could give no firmer moral guidance. And to think that only recently Ms. Hilton could be seen in cyberspace (so I am told) copulating joyously with a man not her husband.

Before getting too ecstatic at her full conservative moral redemption, it must be pointed out, according to Newsweek, that shortly after announcing her intention to retire from public life, she wore a tiara as grand marshal in The Los Angeles Gay, Lesbian, Bi-Sexual & Transgender Pride Parade — not that there is anything wrong with that.

Newsweek went on to note that she doesn't plan to implement her retreat from publicity for two years. But I can understand that. I plan to start my diet next week. There's no time like the future for moral or other redemption. Still, there is value in good intentions. Before the act must come the perception that one is in need of redemption. We often have a few false starts before we succeed. I quit smoking two times before it finally took.

So I wish Ms. Hilton well in her plans to become a moral pillar of our society and, like the rest of us, start going to bed early in one's own bed with one's own spouse. I think she will find that she can become a pillar without becoming a stiff.

I am now looking for a few slender shafts of light coming through the clouds to give hope to those of us who are inclined to despair of conditions in the political sphere. Last week, I wrote censoriously of the excessive schadenfreude I had been observing in politics. I received quite a flood of e-mail, including several from people in the political business, sharing my concern. A measurable minority of the responses thought I was either going soft or was a hypocrite. I will accept the latter charge — although I prefer to think I am having second thoughts about how to view the failure and suffering of my political opponents.

But as to the first charge of going soft. I plead not guilty. I still believe in vigorous, tough, even bruising, political fighting and rhetoric. That's the traditional American style of political debate. Harry Truman accused Republicans of putting pitchforks into the backs of American farmers. Republicans have certainly matched such language.

But what increasingly concerns me is not only the pleasure too many of us are gaining in seeing our opponents suffer, but the trend in the tone of our language.

Donate to JWR


I have been in the middle of the public Washington political debate going on two decades — for seven of those years as Newt Gingrich's very noisy press secretary. I have seen the tone shift from pointed to angry to defamatory to verbally violent to dehumanizing.

And during that time, such language moved from the crankish margins of the debate to being used by people in responsible positions. On the Internet, the tone now includes obscene, scatological and violent language. At some point these burning words may cross over and inflame action.

Words and ideas have consequences. If we don't watch out, we are going to find we have engendered left-right domestic political violence in this country.

But every societal trend can be reversed, and every abyss can be walked back from. If Paris Hilton can see the wisdom of raising a family in a quiet private life, surely we can find the wisdom in fighting hard for our principles without enraging the body politic to the point of mayhem.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Tony Blankley is editorial page editor of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2005, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles