Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 10, 2004 / 21 Sivan, 5764

For the Good Life!

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | I first began covering Ronald Reagan in 1976, when he ran for the Republican nomination against Gerald Ford. Reagan lost, but ran again in 1980. That year he not only won the nomination, but went on to defeat Jimmy Carter for the presidency.


The following column appeared on March 16, 1980, and carried a dateline from Belleville, Ill.:


The girls lean forward on their knees, looking up at the stage. They are wearing white blouses and blue slacks, and bright red ribbons that say REAGAN in white letters.


Their home-permed curls are crushed beneath straw hats that repeat his name in blue letters. In each hand, they hold a pom-pom.


Their incredibly young faces — uncreased by care, unmarked by worry — follow the candidate's every word with unblinking devotion.


Ronald Reagan stands above them flanked by an American flag and a local politician. He is wearing a blue-black houndstooth jacket reminiscent of a '40s dance band or a '50s bar mitzvah. On his right lapel he wears a white rose surrounded by baby's breath. His dark hair glistens under the shopping center lights.


He is in one of those shopping centers that has destroyed 10 acres of countryside greenery to recreate 10 acres of countryside greenery. There are trees and plants, walkways of fake brick and lighting that conveys a faint Main Street, good-old-days air.


Reagan is concluding his speech. "I just hope," he says, pointing down to the crouching girls in front of him, "that these children will know the freedom we once knew."




Donate to JWR



The applause is warm. Members of the crowd hold up signs reading, "Thank You For Opposing ERA." A 4-year-old girl, sitting petitely on a chair, waves a sign saying, "We Love Ronnie," back and forth over her head with two hands.


The Collinsville High School Band strikes up "When the Saints Go Marching in." People cheer, and press close to the restraining ropes to shake his hand. He works the crowd slowly, enjoying the crush.


Although Reagan left Illinois more than 45 years before, he likes it here, and in a sense he is home. His speech works, the laughs work, the lines work, the theme works.


And the theme these days is good times for all.


"How many times has Jimmy Carter come before us and acted as if this economy were our fault," he says. "As if it were some kind of plague that came out of the air because you and I, we're spending too much, we're buying too many things, we're living too well.


"Carter says we've got to get used to austerity and sharing and scarcity, and give up luxury," Reagan says. "Well, I don't believe that! I think we should cover our children's ears when they hear that kind of talk!"


And who could be a more perfect candidate to sell this? This guy is happy. Let others should you how the glass is half empty. Ronald Reagan will show you how it is half full and will promise to fill it up until it slops over on your shoes.


He says he wants to slash the budget, and the applause is tremendous.


He says he wants to increase military spending, and the crowd goes wild.


He says he wants to stop inflation, and he brings down the house.


He says he wants more luxury, and everyone cheers. What the heck. Why not more guns and butter? And not only guns, but the biggest guns, the best guns. And butter? We're talking the high-priced spread, prosperity like you've never seen.


Why not? Let others promise you less: Ronald Reagan promises you more.


"The president is trying to tell you we're energy poor!" he shouts. "He's trying to tell you to give up driving or drive less or dial down your thermostat or turn it off or wear blankets!"


The audience is laughing with him now at that crazy ol' Jimmy Carter. What an old lady that guy is!


"We're not energy poor," Reagan tells them. "We're rich. Rich!"


What, us worry? Not us. Not America. We've got so much, why, if big government would just get out of our way, the goodies would flow from the cornucopia like milk and honey.


And it goes over here. He shakes hand after hand, the press trailing along behind.


And when we go back to the press bus, there, next to the driver is a plastic garbage pail filled with ice and studded with glorious cans of Stag and Budweiser beer. Cans so glistening and cold that the beads of water on them look like dew on a mountain flower.


And on each of our seats, a box lunch of fried chicken! With cole slaw and potato salad and a shiny red apple. And do we tear into it! Fifty reporters rippin' into that old chicken, sippin' down the suds, and lookin' and noddin' at each other with big, greasy smiles.


And it strikes me that we have found a metaphor for the Reagan campaign.


Ronald Reagan — For the Good Life!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.





Comment on JWR contributor Roger Simon's column by clicking here.



Roger Simon Archives


© 2004, Creators Syndicate