Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 2, 2004 /13 Sivan, 5764

A child's lessons start early

By Dayle Shockley

Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | My daughter graduates from high school in a few days.


I have been working on a memory scrapbook for her for the last two months. I didn't realize how exhausting and emotional it would be, sorting through 13 years of stuff that I carefully saved.


I have laughed. I have cried. I have marveled at how fast a kindergartner becomes a high school senior.


As I attempted to piece together my daughter's school years, I thought about the threshold she faces, and I wondered what bit of motherly advice I might offer on the eve of such a momentous occasion.


One evening, while browsing through the book, it hit me. There were life lessons right here on the pages of her own scrapbook.

Donate to JWR


For example, in kindergarten, her teacher wrote a note that began, "Dear Anna, you are a very special girl!"


Lesson 1: Remember how special you are, and don't let anyone convince you otherwise.


In first grade, Anna wrote this note: "I love the sun. I love the stars. I love the moon. I love G-d. I love my mom and dad."


Lesson 2: There may come a day when the sun and stars and moon hide their faces and a day when Mom and Dad are laid to rest. But keep loving G-d and know that G-d's love for you is eternal. It is the one thing you can count on.


The summer Anna turned 8, we vacationed in Tennessee. I have a picture of her and her father at the top of the sky lift in Gatlinburg. Later, she expressed how frightened she was being that far off the ground.


Lesson 3: Some people believe you should live with no fear, but a certain amount of fear is a healthy thing. It even might keep you from an early death.


I pasted in this note that she wrote to her fifth-grade teacher: "Sorry everything was crazy today."


Lesson 4: When someone is going through a difficult time, offering a few sympathetic words can make the craziest of days a little better.


Middle school brought many challenges, not the least being turning 13 and getting braces on her teeth. For her 13th birthday, her grandmother gave her a card bearing this appropriate Bible verse: "Be strong and of a good courage." (Joshua 1:6)


Lesson 5: Some years just stink. You feel awkward. You feel ugly. But remember two things: (1) Stinky years can't last forever, and (2) no matter how stinky the year, G-d will be there with you.


In ninth grade, my daughter brought home a weekly form called a "student progress check." It detailed the student's progress and included personal notes from teachers. The one I chose to display in the scrapbook included this note from her English teacher: "Control talking! All else is good."


Lesson 6: You learn a lot more with your mouth closed.


By her sophomore year, Anna was playing sports. There is a picture of her in her basketball uniform, kneeling beside several team trophies — all smiles.


Lesson 7: Savor your winning seasons, but know that seasons of loss come to everyone. And sometimes the only thing that gets us through losing seasons are the sweet memories of victory and a hunger to feel that rush again.


As it is, the scrapbook can't be finished until after graduation, since there will be photos and memorabilia to include. But that brings me to the final scrapbook lesson.


Lesson 8: Whatever tasks you start in the days ahead, do all you can to complete them.


As you can see, those are simple lessons. But I believe that if my daughter applies them to her life, she will be just fine. And that is all any mother wishes for her child.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributing columnist Dayle Allen Shockley is a Texas-based author. Comment by clicking here.

© 2004, Dayle Allen Shockley