Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 8, 2004 / 19 Sivan, 5764

Reagan's afterlife on Earth

By Edward I. Koch


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | Those of us who believe in G-d know that we will ultimately face our Maker. Some, who do not, expect to expire without hope of an afterlife. In the case of Ronald Reagan, we have an extraordinary figure whose afterlife can be seen right here on earth. He leaves behind a powerful, indeed unique, legacy of success. Ronald Reagan, 40th President of the United States, will be forever remembered in the history of our country as one of our most effective presidents.


I have always believed that when someone with whom we have positive emotional ties and who has led a long life that had a beneficial impact on others dies, we should celebrate his or her passing with a sense of joy, reflecting on their accomplishments. We should not be overwhelmed with anger or pain.


I define effectiveness as the ability of public officials to move the country in their political direction. Today we often hear Ronald Reagan's effectiveness compared with that of FDR. The latter moved the country to the left, which was necessary to escape the Depression. Reagan moved the country to the right. Interesting for me is to see that many people who were critical of Reagan when he was in office are now praising him to the skies.


I thought President Reagan's reference to the Soviet Union as an "evil empire" was a sublime phrase. But he was attacked by many of the cognoscenti who like to think of themselves as intellectuals and academics, as well as by editorial writers, who labeled Reagan and his comment as puerile. They did the same to President George W. Bush when he referred to Iran, Iraq and North Korea as the Axis of Evil. Bush was as correct in his phrasing as was Reagan.


I remember when Reagan's intellectual capacity was questioned by the same crowd that now questions the mental ability of George W. Bush. They attack Bush with the same catcalls and brickbats they used on Reagan. My response when the political and unfair slanders were uttered was that anyone elected governor of California and reelected with a smashing majority cannot be a dummy, even though his political philosophy is at odds with his critics. I say the same about President Bush, who was twice elected governor of Texas.


My admiration and affection for President Reagan was strengthened when I met him in person. The year was 1980. I was serving as Mayor of New York. Governor Reagan was running for President against the incumbent Jimmy Carter, who was a Democrat and the leader of my own party. One of Reagan's staff members — I believe Lyn Nofziger — asked a member of my staff if I would meet with the Governor to fill him in on New York City's fiscal problems. In 1980, we were still operating with deficits, having been given permission by the New York State Legislature to do so with a requirement that we go to a GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Practices) balanced budget in four years. Members of my staff said to me, "You can't meet with him; he's a Republican running against Carter. It will give him national publicity and Carter will be furious." I said, "Of course, I will meet with him. I'll meet with anyone who wants to know more about my budget problems and who can help me solve them. He may be our next President."

Donate to JWR


When Reagan showed up at Gracie Mansion, sure enough, he was accompanied by a truckload of national reporters. We had breakfast and chatted for about an hour. He had several staff members with him, as did I, including my Deputy Mayors and the Corporation Counsel. At the end of our meeting I said, "Governor, we should sum up what we agreed to with respect to New York City, since the press will ask that question." Nofziger said, "What three things would you like?" I replied, "One: the federal government owns the Astoria Movie Studios. I'd like to have them for New York City for a dollar." The Governor said, "Done." My second request, I said, is more complicated. "The federal guarantee of $1.650 billion, of which we have drawn down $600 million, can be stopped by the President at any time. So I want the Governor's assurance that if he is President, he will guarantee the entire amount." The Governor said, "Done."


Then came my third request. I asked that the federal government take over the entire cost of Medicaid. Governor Reagan replied, "Over my dead body." Nofziger added, "Two out of three ain't bad." We went out onto the porch. I reported our agreement which he affirmed. Serendipitously, this was to become one of the most important press conferences I ever attended. Why? Because shortly after Reagan won, he designated a New Jersey resident, Donald Regan, as Secretary of the Treasury. Regan, who was very hostile to New York, announced he was ending the federal guarantees depriving New York City of the $1 billion, 50 million balance. I immediately called the White House and spoke with the President's urban affairs adviser, Rich Williamson. I told him that the President had promised the entire amount would be guaranteed to the City. He said the President always kept his word and did I have it in writing? I said, no, but we have it on tape — we always taped press conferences. He said, "send it down." We not only sent it immediately, but a New York City detective hand carried it to Washington. President Reagan was true to his word. The entire amount was guaranteed.


Over the years, I had a number of meetings with President Reagan. Whenever possible I would pick him up at the heliport when he came to New York City and drive with him to his hotel. We became friends. On one occasion, we were driving across 42nd Street. New Yorkers had been informed the President was coming, and they were there in the thousands. Reagan was looking out the right side window when he suddenly yelled, "Look, that guy gave me the finger." I said, "Mr. President, don't be so upset. Thousands are cheering you and only one guy gave you the finger." He replied, "That's what Nancy says, that I always see the guy with the finger."


Well, Mr. President, today seeing, hearing and reading what is being said about you, it appears unanimous that you are now everyone's hero. There are no more fingers being waved in front of you, only loving, admiring statements with kisses. You deserve every one of them. I feel privileged to have known you. You will be remembered as one of our most beloved presidents.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Saturday from 9-10 am. Comment by clicking here.

© 2003, Edward I. Koch