Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 14, 2004 / 25 Sivan, 5764

Ronald Reagan, R.I.P.

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | What an emotional couple of weeks for America. First Memorial Day highlighted by the official unveiling of the World War II Memorial in Washington, D.C. followed by the 60th anniversary of D-Day, then finally, the passing of President Ronald Reagan. An emotional couple of weeks, yes, but emotions made up of pride, honor, gratitude and patriotism. And a lot of other emotions, too. More than 106,000 people came to the Reagan Library in Simi Valley to pay their respects to one of America's greatest presidents. The arrival of the body, which would lie in repose at the Library, was televised. I saw the family gather beside the flag-draped casket and I felt as though I were intruding as I watched Nancy Reagan gently put her cheek down upon it following the short service.


I watched the crowds gather in Washington as President Reagan's body was transported across the country. Tens of thousands lined the streets to say good-bye to The Gipper as the caisson rolled slowly down towards the Capitol. Nancy Reagan stood at the top of the stairs waiting as her husband's casket was carried up by eight military pallbearers. Twenty-one gun salutes, marching bands, the Fly-overs, the Supreme Court and Congress gathering in the rotunda, the speeches - all of it quite something. Very impressive, very historic, and very sad. Of course it's sad - a good man has left us, after all.


But it was wonderful at the same time. Wonderful that a good man was honored for doing good things. How rare it is today to see that. Wonderful to see crowds of Americans, thousands and thousands of them, who were polite and civil and just wanted to show up to show their respect for the president and his family. And wonderful to see the grandeur of it all, the pomp and circumstance, the majestic protocol in an era where formality, manners and dignity are almost completely gone in every aspect of our lives.

Donate to JWR


How nice it was to see people holding American flags again. Old folks in wheel chairs, kids on the shoulders of parents, every kind of American waving Old Glory. And still it was done in an understated non-celebratory way. This was not the exuberant flag-waving brought on by too much Fourth of July partying, this was the quiet patriotism of September 11, 2001. Reverence. Respect. You could even see it on the faces of the children. Why does it always take a national disaster or death of an American hero to bring this out in people? Yet it felt good to see once again.


It's comforting to know that you're not alone in feeling a love of country - to be reminded that, yes, there are millions of Americans that feel as I do. Being exposed to the daily assault by much of our media, it is easy to think that one is alone or at least in the minority to feel patriotic, but it is not so. I believe most Americans still are patriots. People wept as the caisson went by, and I heard one man boldly say, "We love you, Nancy," as the former first lady passed. No, I was not alone.


By and large people were dressed as most people generally dress today, but many made the attempt to look a little nicer than usual and that made me feel good, too.


One of President Reagan's accomplishments after he took office was that he made Americans feel good about their country again. He brought honor and dignity and love of country back to a nation that had gone through two decades of dishonor, indignity, and skepticism. He brought optimism back to a generation that had become jaded and cynical. He brought back hope for that "shinning city on a hill." As I watched the people lining up for hours to honor an American who honored America, as I watched thousands standing seven-deep along the Washington streets with flags in their hands and tears in their eyes, I felt optimistic about America and my fellow countrymen, and I couldn't help but think that even now President Reagan is still working his magic - well, there he goes again.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives


© 2004, Greg Crosby