Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jine 1, 2004 /12 Sivan, 5764

How We Will Lose the Islamo-Fascist War

By Greg Crosby

Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | Please bear with me this week as I share some of my thoughts with you concerning the war on terror. I warn you, my mood has not been particularly upbeat lately. I am troubled with what I detect as an anti-war sentiment slowly welling up in our country instigated primarily, although not solely, by the mainstream media. It is depressing to me since I believe that we are engaged in a war that we absolutely cannot afford to lose — but we may indeed lose it, if things don't change.


Some have made the statement that our present enemies are no more evil, ruthless, nor determined than was Hitler's Nazis, and since we succeeded in defeating the Nazis, the thinking goes, we will, in time, defeat the Islamic terrorists too. Nice try, but I don't buy the comparison; in fact I submit that the Islamic fascists we are up against today are by far a more formidable enemy than were the Nazis. Here's why:


First, there are many more radical, Western-hating Muslims in the world today than there were Nazis in Germany during World War II.


Second, they are virtually a stealth enemy; no uniforms, no one country of origin, no central headquarters.


Third, they believe they are driven to this holy war by Allah. They believe their religion commands the slaughter and eradication of all who do not think as they do.


Since they adhere to no normal rules of combat, they are far more ruthless than were the Germans. The Islamists kidnap and murder civilians, use guerrilla tactics, hide in mosques, blend into the civilian population, and have no problem in killing their own people or blowing themselves up. In short they will stop at nothing to destroy us. They literally live to kill us.


They're not bound by Geneva Convention criteria, nor world opinion, nor political correctness, as is America.


The Islamists have a long memory and a deep-seated hatred. Their blood feuds go back centuries. They're still fighting the Crusades with a determination and rage that is incomprehensible to westerners. Conversely, Americans have a short attention span and an even shorter memory. It hasn't even been three years since the 9-11 attacks and already much of us have seemed to have forgotten it — moving on to other priorities such as banning second-hand smoke, watching Donald Trump fire people on TV, and following all the latest celebrity court cases. About half of our country is ready to quit the war on terror altogether.


Political correctness could keep us from winning this war. Our society is so overly-sensitized to this PC doctrine that our government can't even officially call our enemies by their true name — we use euphemisms such as "terrorists," "evil doers," and "enemies of freedom" instead of calling them what they are, and there are several good names — Islamo-fascists, Muslim militants, Islamists, Islamic-jihadists.

Donate to JWR


To say we are engaged in a "war on terror" is to give the impression that we are fighting against some relatively small ragtag band of crazy religious zealots, sort of like Jim Jones, or the Branch Dividians. Nothing could be further from the truth. The Islamic-jihadists have networks throughout the world and their followers may well number into the millions. We are fighting World War III, and I wish somebody in our government would say so. The Islamists have declared a holy war on us and they are prepared to fight us to the death no matter how many years it takes. Any yet there are many Americans who still believe we can somehow negotiate with them or treat them as though they are just a few misguided criminals. As one political pundit has so clearly put it, "How can we expect to win when they're willing to die for their cause — but we are not willing to even kill for our survival?"


I fear our leaders are losing resolve. Secretary of State Colin Powell and Iraq Governor Paul Bremer has said that American troops would leave Iraq if they were asked to do so by the new ruling government — WHAT? After everything we've been through, after the sacrifices made by our soldiers, how can they say such a thing? It's a weak statement for Americans to hear who want to see Iraq tamed and hopefully put out of the terrorist business once and for all. And it is the wrong message to send to the moderate Iraqis who want to feel protected and supported by us against the militant factions, not to mention the message it sends to the enemy that we got our runnin' shoes on and we're ready to split.


Following the brutal murders and desecration of the bodies of 4 American contractors, we proclaimed to the world that the guilty will pay. We threatened and we didn't make good on those threats. We gathered at Fallujah, saying that we would "pacify" the town and then we stalled. We said we would go after the militant leader, Muqtada al Sadr and bring him to Justice and we haven't. Just as Bush needs tough determined rhetoric, we also need some follow-through, folks. We need some battlefront victories so that Americans are convinced that we know what the hell we're doing over there. We need to win the battle in Iraq before we can win the larger war. There will be other fronts on the larger war, they're waiting for us now, but we can't address them if we get mired in Iraq by attempting too hard to "do the politically correct right thing."


Bush has gotten weak of late in the things he says and does. The strength and resolve he showed after the 9-11 attacks has been replaced with parsing words, stuttering, and political correct phrases. And the American people feel it. Most of us want to sense that our President knows what he must do and is committed to doing it. With the ongoing drumbeat in the media over the photos of prisoner abuse at Abu Ghraib, Americans, made to feel ashamed in the eyes of the world, are beginning to doubt whether the war in Iraq is worth it at all. Colin Powell and Donald Rumsfield travel around the world apologizing to all Arabs who'll listen. The more protracted and extensive the apologies get, the more people will become convinced that the abuses that took place in that Iraqi prison must have been torture of such a horrific level that it ranks among the world's worst atrocities — along side the Gulags, and Nazi death camps. And the more the media digs into it, the more they will find, and the more they find, the more they'll harp on it.


The incessant press and television coverage during the Vietnam War helped to turn Americans against it. The very same thing will undoubtedly happen with the war in the Middle East. If enough dead American names are read on ABC's Nightline, if enough prisoner maltreatment is uncovered and reported on, if the media continues to make the Islamist Jihadists the victims, if the anti-war protest marches and rallies continue to grow in number and continue to get extensive daily television coverage, and the Democrats continue to jump on all of this to bring down Bush, then the wearing-down effect will happen — Americans will slowly but surly start to forget why we are fighting in the first place and the general sentiment will be to "bring the troops home."


When that happens, watch for John Kerry (who up until the prison abuse story broke had been sounding moderate to almost hawkish in his campaign speeches concerning the war) to take a sudden, yet decidedly anti-war stance. He will proclaim that if elected he will end the war and "bring our young men and women home" and he will win. After he takes office he will make good on his promise and begin the extrication of our forces from the region — leaving the place to the terrorists in much the same way that South Vietnam was left to the North. When this happens we are done for. It will be exactly at that point in time when we will have lost the war to the Islamic Terrorists.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2004, Greg Crosby