Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 14, 2014 / 14 Iyar, 5774

Are Millennials moving us toward a post-racial society?

By Ana Veciana-Suarez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | After that jaw-dropping rant by Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling, after the deplorable declaration by freeloading Nevada rancher Clive Bundy, we have this pinprick of hope:

Most young people say they're colorblind, viewing racial minorities the same as whites, according to a recent survey done for cable network MTV.

MTV reports that a majority of Millennials -- teens and young adults from 14 to 24, for purposes of this study -- think racism is more of a problem for the generations that came before them than for their own. Not surprisingly, the percentage of whites (73 percent) who believe this is higher than the percentage of non-whites (66 percent) who do. Nevertheless, it hints at optimism, if not exactly candor.

"Millennials are the most diverse generation in history, and it's inspiring to see how equality and fairness serve as their bedrock values," said MTV President Stephen Friedman in a prepared statement.

In other words, familiarity seems to engender acceptance or at least ease and tolerance when it comes to those who are different. Surely this can be a collective salve at a time when Sterling was recorded making hateful racial comments and Bundy suggested blacks were better off when they were enslaved.

MTV's research, which was done earlier this year, also found that 61 percent of white Millennials believe that racism will become less of an issue as their generation moves into leadership positions. Fifty-four percent of nonwhite Millennials agreed.

Does this mean we are evolving, slowly but steadily, into a color-blind society in which equality -- in sexual orientation, religious affiliation, ethnicity and gender -- is more reality than fantasy?

Yes, yes, yes, I want to shout. My children's relationships prove that boundaries separating groups have blended and blurred, sometimes disappeared. Their classmates, their friends, their college roommates, the peers they confide in are a motley crew, certainly more diverse than my own limited circle. I often joke that they exemplify a United Colors of Benetton ad, only without the controversy.

But of course, that resounding yes is part hopeful wishing, part ignorant delusion. Millennials do not live in a bubble. They were not surreptitiously inoculated for prejudice along with their MMR vaccines. Hate knows no age, and there are Sterlings and Bundys in every generation.



To believe that racism is receding, that inequality is a form of fiction, that biases are as retro as vinyl records is to excuse ourselves from preaching and working against an insidious scourge. Believing that the work is done, or almost so, allows our own ugly prejudices to slide on through.

Consider this: Half of the surveyed white Millennials say discrimination against whites is now equal to the discrimination against people of color -- a belief that MTV's Friedman admits "can also cloud their perception of historical and institutional inequities." Such thinking also denies a glaring reality others live every day.

Without the knowledge of history, without the context of experience, Millennials may not recognize that racism has not disappeared. It simply has become more nuanced and less overt. Our neighborhoods continue to be highly segregated, as are our schools. Minorities are consistently underrepresented in media and boardrooms. Voter suppression laws are passed even as they affect certain communities disproportionately. And bigotry blossoms in the growing number of hate groups.

Still, the MTV survey provides hope. Hope that we can overcome our history. Hope that we can be honest with ourselves. Hope that we won't ignore prejudice, as so many did long before Sterling and Bundy hit the airwaves. Hope that our children will lead the way.

Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:


Times change, but the love of a grandparent is constant

Think before you dial, text, FaceTime, Skype, chat

Don't sacrifice too much at the altar of busyness

It's not about Gywneth Paltrow; it's about our insecurities and need to compare

Will you love me, granddaughter, when I'm (really, really) old?

We are failing to protect our children from abuse

The story of Marissa Alexander: When justice is blind, deaf and dumb

Why do women 'shop' in their friends' closets?

Mr. Smiley Testing My Patience

We're not forgetful, we just know too much

Why didn't I think of that? Another missed opportunity for invention

When being fair is really not, and other life lessons

Bridging the Generation Gap Has Gone Too Far


Ana Veciana-Suarez is a family columnist for The Miami Herald



© 2014, The Miami Herald Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast