Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 22, 2014 / 22 Iyar, 5774

Grace in a batch of biscuits

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Do you know what it's like to move freely through time, to see the past, present and future all at once, and sense a connection to all that's gone before, all that is and is still yet to come?

Yes, I do mean without the use of hallucinogenic drugs.

It can happen any place, any time. But when it happens in a kitchen, it's called a biscuit.

As a child, after my parents split apart, I fell into the chasm between them and found it hard to climb back out. Lucky for me, I had my grandmothers. They had spent their lives mending and patching and salvaging all sorts of things that were broken or tattered or torn.

They were good at it. And that is what they did for me, little by little, bit by bit, with stitches of love, scraps of hope and the bonding glue of belonging. They made me feel whole again.

One morning my dad's mother taught me how to make biscuits. First we washed our hands. Next we gathered the makings: flour, buttermilk and lard that she measured from memory. We stirred it up, patted it out and cut it in circles. I did most of the work, but she helped. I plopped them in her cast iron skillet and she slid them in the oven of the wood stove. Then came the hard part: We had to wait.

While we waited, she told me that she had made biscuits with her grandmother long ago and maybe someday, I'd make them with my grandchildren, too.

I laughed trying to picture it.

Finally, when the biscuits were golden brown, we took them out and split them open to slather them with her handchurned butter and her homemade blackberry jam. She ate two. I ate four. They were good. I wish you could've tasted them.

A lifetime later, just last week, I spent a morning with Henry, my 2-year-old grandson, just the two of us. I don't get to see him and his cousins nearly as much as I would like, but I fly in for visits as often as I can and we make the best of it.



On her way out the door to teach school, Henry's mama grinned at me and said, "I bet Henry would love to help you make biscuits for breakfast!"

First we washed our hands. Then we gathered the makings. Henry peeled the wrapper off the can and I rapped it hard on the counter to pop it open.

He did most of the work, but I helped. He plopped them in the pan and I slid them in the oven. Then came the hard part. We had to wait.

While we waited, I told him that I had made biscuits with my grandmother long ago and maybe someday he'd make them with his grandchildren, too.

He laughed trying to picture it.

Finally, when the biscuits were golden brown, we took them out and split them open to slather them with butter and agave nectar. Henry ate two. I ate four. They were good. Not as good as my grandmother's, but still, I wish you could've tasted them.

Henry and his cousins don't need mending. Thanks be to G0D, they're as whole as whole can be. But whenever we spend time together, they patch up little places in my heart that I didn't even know were broken.

Life itself is a sacrament, an outward symbol of an inner grace that reminds us of the mystery that we are all part of a never-ending circle.

It is anchored by the past and given wings by the future, but it is lived only in the present, in the awareness of each precious moment - in a light that gleams through a stained-glass window or the smell of biscuits baking in the oven or the sweet holy touch of a child's hand on your face.

Look. Can you see it?


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast