Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 15, 2014 / 15 Iyar, 5774

Taming the little dragon

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) This might be the most fun I've ever had working. I'm lying in bed propped up on pillows, writing a column on my laptop, while 2-year-old Charlotte sleeps beside me snoring softly like a baby woodchipper.

Charlotte is my husband's granddaughter, but I claim her, too, just as he claims my three grandsons. That's part of the deal with second marriages. You get to share each other's assets.

Charlotte and her parents live in California, some 500 miles from our home in Las Vegas. They flew in yesterday to spend a few days with us. Las Vegas may be better known for adult entertainment, but there's plenty to do with kids. We have lots of plans. But today they just wanted to kick back and hang out. My favorite kind of day.

My husband took the first shift this morning, sitting curled up with Charlotte in his recliner watching "Shaun the Sheep."

Papa Mark duty often involves cartoons. But after lunch, when Charlotte and her parents opted to go in the pool (despite the fact that the wind was blowing hard enough to knock the pigeons off the roof like bowling pins) Papa Mark was the good sport who jumped right in and pretended he wasn't freezing.

He's better at pretending than I am. I sat on the sidelines and played lifeguard. When we all got too cold to pretend any more, we went inside. Papa Mark crashed in the recliner. I went to our bedroom to check email. And Charlotte's mom gave her a bath to thaw her out.

A bit later, I heard a knock down low on my bedroom door.

"Who's there?" I said.

I'm good at playing dumb.

"It's me!" Charlotte yelled, adding something that sounded like "duh!" She was wrapped in a towel. Her hair was wet. Her mom asked if I'd like to brush it.

I laughed. "I can do that," I said. It had been years since I brushed a little girl's hair. But some things you don't forget.

Charlotte climbed on the bed, plopped her wet head on Papa Mark's pillow and pulled the covers up around her.

Her mom handed me a brush and I went to work, humming a little made-up tune, smoothing Charlotte's honey blonde curls, and remembering all the times I did the same for my daughter.

Can you imagine a better gift in this world or the next than getting to brush the tangles from a sleepy child's hair?

I wish you could've seen us.



Charlotte fell asleep, but I kept brushing and humming and remembering. My daughter's hair was such a beast we called it the Dragon. I spent years trying to tame it. She tames it on her own now, without any help whatsoever from me.

Charlotte is quite a Dragon Head, too. Finally, when her all tangles were tamed, I sat for a while watching her eyes move behind her silvery lids. I tried to picture what she was dreaming. It looked like a good dream.

She smiled in her sleep and I smiled back. Then I inched my way off the bed, grabbed my laptop, climbed back in beside her and began to write.

Her dad tiptoed in to hand me her stuffed rabbit. "If she stirs," he whispered, "give her this and she'll go right back to sleep."

Her mom offered to bring me a fruity drink. And Papa Mark slipped in to snap a picture and tell me he was cooking dinner. He's good at cooking and taking pictures and making people happy. Especially Charlotte and her boy cousins and me.

Charlotte won't be 2 forever. Some day, she'll be too big to let me brush her hair. Or read her books. Or watch her play games that I don't understand on Papa Mark's iPad. She doesn't even wear diapers any more - except when she's sleeping. As she is now. Without a diaper.

It's OK. I'm not worried. She's on Papa Mark's side of the bed.

And her hair looks fabulous.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast