Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 8, 2014 / 8 Iyar, 5774

Treadmill with a view

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) It's quite a view. In the west, the rugged Spring Mountains bask in the morning sun, an ever-changing interplay of light and clouds, peaks and valleys.

I never tire of it.

To the north, the Las Vegas Strip sits anchored in the desert like a luxury liner in dry dock.

The air is clear, no smog or dust or howling winds, and the temperature is close to perfect.

If you don't believe me, ask the sunbathers and swimmers and floaters and waders who have flocked to the pool today like ducks to a well-stocked pond.

These ducks are no spring chickens. Most of them, as they say where I come from, are on the undertaker's end of 70.

I'm watching them through a glass wall that separates the pool from the gym, where I am plodding along on a treadmill like a mule pulling a plow.

I doubt they can see me. They're too busy laughing and yakking and having a good time.

And they're not alone. In an adjacent building, hundreds of others are playing cards or shooting pool, joining clubs and taking classes, finding ways to stay engaged and feel alive.

I wish you could see them.

This complex is part of a huge "55 and older" community that's comprised of some 7,000 homes, including ours.



We like our place, my husband and I. To live in it, one of us had to be 55 or older. One of us was. Never mind who.

The only problem with a place that's just for old people is that there aren't any young people around. Especially kids.

I miss watching bikes pop wheelies on my lawn; catching baseballs as they crash through my window; answering the door 50 times on Halloween to little monsters looking for handouts; and listening to teenage wannabe rock stars bang their drums and dream their dreams.

Seriously. I love that stuff. I revisit it occasionally with my grandchildren. But visiting with children is not the same as having them live next door and getting to watch them grow up.

I miss having young people of all ages around me. But to tell you the truth? I don't miss it so much at the gym.

Here, half naked and all sweaty on a treadmill, I rather like being on the younger end of the age spectrum. It makes me feel, not young, but relatively speaking, a little less old.

I just wish my knees felt that way, too. Ten minutes into a 30-minute workout, I bumped up the speed from 2.5 to 3 mph.

Seconds later, my right knee asked, "Have you lost what little is left of your mind?" I ignored it. Then my left knee threatened bodily harm, so I slowed to 2.5.

There was a time in my life when I could run like the wind, never get tired and my knees wouldn't complain a bit. Sure, I was 8 years old, but still. I kept running into my 30s. Then the knees began to balk and the running slowed to a walk and pretty soon, I was mostly sitting. In front of a computer. Or a TV. Or a dinner plate. And the more I sat, the less I felt like moving.

My grandmother lived on a mountain and walked for miles most every day. She said she had to keep her body moving or it would quit on her. She kept it moving and it did not quit, until her late 80s, when she went to bed one night and never woke up. It seemed like a good way to leave this world, but even better, I thought, was the quality of life she enjoyed, start to finish.

That is what I want. Not just to feel better or look younger, but to keep moving and enjoy the gift of life I've been given for as long as it is mine. There's a lot of stuff I still want to do.

So I'm spending five days a week, more or less, in a gym, inspired by women of a certain age everywhere, who keep their bodies moving on treadmills or sidewalks or any way they can, bless their pounding hearts, like blue-haired bats out of hell.

Long may our knees hold up.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast