Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 1, 2014 / 1 Iyar, 5774

Mother knew best

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Every year when Mother's Day cards show up in the stores, I remember the woman who brought me into this world and often threatened to take me out.

I remember her on other days, too, but especially at Mother's Day. She never cared much for gifts. I could just send a card and give her a call and she'd be happy as a mother clam.

She died nearly 20 years ago of lung cancer after smoking for most of her 70 years. A few months later, I was in a grocery store picking out a Mother's Day card when suddenly I realized I had no one to send it to.

I could send cards to several women who'd been like mothers to me. I loved them dearly. But there was only woman I called "Mama." And she was gone.

It's embarrassing to admit to having a major melt-down over a shelf of Hallmark cards in Safeway. But that is what I did.

I drove home, leaving a cart of groceries in the aisle, ordered a pizza for dinner and started a new Mother's Day tradition: Remembering my mother.

It's not as easy. I'd rather mail a card or make a phone call.

Not that my mother isn't memorable. She blazed through life sparking memories like a firecracker in a campfire. But her memories, much like some I'll leave behind, are not all happy. It's hard to live 70 years without a few regrets. My mother may have had more than a few. But she did the best she could. I try to remember that.

Each Mother's Day, I pick a different theme, a different part of who she was that I want to recall. This time it's some of the things she said. For example:


  • "You will have children one day and you will know how I feel." It was a threat more than a promise. She was right. I did.

  • "You've got to learn to see danger." I did that the minute I gave birth to my first child.

  • "Pretty is as pretty does." I'm still working on that one.

  • "You can't get blood from a turnip." I never knew what that meant. I still don't.

  • "Try to use what little sense the good Lord gave you." I try.

  • When I begged her not to send my brother, who was 7 years old and totally blind, to board at the state school, she said, "They'll teach him to read Braille. If he's ever going to have a life, he's got to learn to read." I didn't know at the time those were some of the truest words I'd ever hear.

  • When I was a teenager and dared to suggest that she ought to get a life, she replied, "I work five days a week, clean my house on Saturday, go to church and visit my mama every Sunday. I don't need a life. I need help."

My mother was a very smart woman. I spent the first 40 years of my life thinking how different we were, she and I. Lately, I find myself thinking just how much we're alike.

Her favorite question was "When are you coming home?"

My standard reply was, "As soon as I can." It meant not soon and never often enough.

The last thing she said that I can't forget: "You don't know what you've got 'til it's gone."

Mothers come in all varieties. Some never give birth, but spend their lives caring for children who need them.

We all have different styles, different philosophies, different definitions of what it means to be a mother. But one thing most of us can agree on is we'd like to be remembered by our children.

I remember my mother. And someday, when I'm gone, I hope my children will remember me. But in the meantime, I'll gladly take a card or a phone call.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast