Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Whine connoisseurs

By Jim Mullen




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We all complain about air travel -- the size of the seats, the delays, the jet lag, the turbulence, the crying babies, the other passengers, paying through the nose for luggage -- I could go on and on (and often do). But for all our complaining, we can get from New York to L.A., door-to-door, in 10 or 12 hours. Half a day.

It took Lewis and Clark two years to go from St. Louis to the Pacific. And that was after two years of preparation. Their clothes rotted on their bodies. It took wagon trains months to go from Nebraska to Oregon and many people died along the way. Yet we complain about the peanuts they give us on a long flight, like if we go without food for four hours, we may start eating the sleeping passengers next to us.

Yes, air travel has become a soul-sucking, body-numbing experience, but compared to the long history of human experience, or even compared to 50 years ago, we have it sooooo good.

I saw a 100-year-old aerial picture of a nearby town recently and I was surprised by how little had changed; most of the buildings and roads were still familiar, and the downtown was completely recognizable. Then I noticed that in the backyard of almost every house stood a tiny white building -- an outhouse. That may sound charming and rustic to some of you, but not if you live in a place with a real winter. As a kid in Nebraska, I used to hear stories about people who went out to use the necessary during the middle of a blizzard and were never seen again. Of course, if they were from my family, I don't think anyone looked for them very hard or very long.

We all complain about things that, not so very long ago, would have been seen as near miracles. Ever tapped your foot while waiting in line at the grocery store? "Oh, why is she writing a check in the express lane?" "All day long, and as soon as I get in line they have to change the register tape?" How indignant we get, forgetting that not so very long ago, if you didn't plant it, weed it, water it and harvest it, you didn't eat it. Where would you have gotten a banana 200 years ago? A pineapple? A macadamia nut? Who had a refrigerator to put their groceries in 100 years ago, or a freezer?



Things we take for granted -- dandruff shampoo, indoor plumbing, air conditioning, satellite radio, smartphones, credit cards, cable TV, microwave ovens, the Internet -- are all life-changers that many of us would find it hard to live without. We have it so good, and we still find so many things to whine about.

I heard a friend whining about empty handicapped parking spots in front of the mall a few days ago, and it was so bizarre, it was funny. He was acting as if being disabled was a privilege, a dream come true because it meant they got great parking spots. I wonder what limb he'd like to lose or disease he'd like to have that would make that an even trade. How many times have you heard yourself say, "57 channels and nothing on" instead of saying, "I'm so lucky to have a TV to be able to know what's going on in Russia and Egypt the minute it happens" or "I'm so lucky to be able to see shows I liked over and over again."

We complain so easily, so thoughtlessly over the smallest slights and inconveniences that it must be deep in our nature to complain. It must give us some kind of satisfaction and pleasure or we wouldn't do it so much, or so often.

The bottom line is that flying isn't fun, but complaining about it is.

ARCHIVES


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."




© 2009, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast