Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Driving Miss Crazy

By Jim Mullen




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I just saw a report that said eight out of 10 car crashes or near-crashes are caused by distracted drivers. Thank goodness I was watching TV while I was driving, or I might have missed that.

It's one of those stories that can change your life. So I called Sue to tell her, but the cellphone reception was bad out on the interstate, so I told her I'd get back to her when I was on one of the service roads.

I wonder, though, do we really need a study to know that distracted drivers cause accidents? Or is it like one of those million-dollar studies that takes years of research to shock us with the news that mother's milk is OK for babies to drink? Do we need a study to tell us people do insane things behind the wheel? All you have to do is pull out of your driveway to realize that the inmates have taken over the asylum.

Hang on, I've got to stop typing and pay attention to the guy in front of me. He's driving erratically; he's all over the road. I think he may be drunk. Well, at least he's not distracted. Never mind -- I just flew past him and I think he's sober, and he wasn't on the phone or texting. He was just updating his Facebook status. Seems he's less distracted now that someone took a baseball bat to his left headlight.

I know a lot of people work out of their cars now. The front passenger seat is their entire office. It's got the computer, the filing cabinet, water cooler -- everything you need to run a business, right there within easy reach. The back seat is the conference room. I suppose the most common business to run out of a car is car insurance claims adjuster.

Oh, look at that! The woman in the next lane is putting on her makeup while she's driving. That is so wrong! What is she thinking? Those aren't her colors at all! Doesn't she know bright red is sooo over? She should be using pastels and soft, soft translucent colors. They should take away her license. Not her driver's license, her beautician's license. Doesn't she read Vogue while she's driving?

Hang on, what's this? The traffic's slowing down to a crawl. Probably an accident. But I see there's nothing on the local TV station about it yet. Let me click through the channels. Nope, nothing. Why are we drivers always the last to know? If only I could get basic cable in the car.



Wait, this looks serious. There are two cars over in the disabled lane. An accident? Road rage? A fender-bender? Has anyone been hurt? Will an ambulance be showing up soon? No, it looks like ... I don't believe this! They've pulled off the road to eat lunch!

They are sitting behind the wheel, eating in parked cars. No wonder there's rubbernecking. Now I've absolutely seen everything! They can't eat French fries and drive at the same time? How did they ever get a driver's license? Isn't that part of the test, being able to eat and drive at the same time? If it isn't part of the test, it should be. It would keep nutcases like that off the road -- they're distracting me.

I've eaten peel 'n' eat shrimp while driving and playing a video game at the same time, and these people can't choke down a hamburger without have to park their cars? They could cause an accident.

Uh-oh. A cop. Now that's a distraction -- all those lights and sirens pulling up behind me, and the loudspeaker telling me to pull over. Twice in one day. That's four times this week. It's making me a nervous wreck.

ARCHIVES


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."




© 2009, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast