Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Turns out the egg came first

By Jim Mullen




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Once or twice a week, friends and neighbors will show up at our back door with a carton of "extra" eggs. These eggs do not come from free-range chickens. They come from the out-in-the-front-yard, car-dodging, yard-pecking, chase-you-around-the-lawn chickens that everybody with a driveway-sized plot of land seems to be raising at the moment.

Living in small towns and on five-acre ranches has never seemed so Green Acre-ish. And why not? It's almost cheaper to buy a dozen chicks than a dozen eggs.

And with the chickens come the eggs. Sue and I have gone through about every egg recipe we have ever heard of, and many we haven't, and we still have eggs left over. It could only be better if our friends would pay us to take their eggs.

"What, shirred eggs again?" I heard myself ask the other morning. I had never heard of them until Sue bought a book called "The Best of English Cooking." (The good news is that it's only five pages long. One of the recipes was for spaghetti curry.) We've made every kind of quiche, frittata and custard possible, and we still have eggs. Empty egg cartons are stacking up in our mudroom, next to our winter coats and dirty boots.

This was never a problem when we lived in the city. No one ever dropped by 14th Street to give us their extra eggs, piling up our mudroom with cartons. Of course, we didn't have a mudroom. When I told one city friend that our mudroom was getting full he said, "You have an entire room for mud? Must be nice." I forgot he lives in a fourth-floor walk-up studio apartment smaller than our living room that has a view of a brick wall. But it's only $3,000 a month plus utilities. Eggs are extra.

Am I worried about my cholesterol by eating so many eggs? Compared to what? Nachos? Cream cheese? Hot dogs? Hamburgers? Pizza? I think the "egg vs. cholesterol" controversy ship sailed a long time ago. Besides, if you want to sell something, the best way to get people to buy it is to tell people it's bad for them. Read a grocery store flyer and tell me which items are on sale -- the "healthy" items or the "unhealthy" ones.

But a more interesting question is, why are so many people raising chickens? Is it about money or a lifestyle or both?



I see everything at the grocery store getting more expensive -- I recently paid $1.69 for one good-sized apple and $3.85 for a gallon of gas. But according to the latest government report, our core inflation rate is not rising. Of course, as they have for many years, they don't count food and gas, the two main things that are rising. Well, why stop there? If they're not going to count food and gas, they may as well not count rent, tuition, doctor's bills, cable TV, utilities and clothes. Inflation could be totally eliminated.

So, if you don't buy anything, the price of nothing has not gone up. Which is good news. No wonder consumer confidence is up -- consumers are confident the price of everything they buy is rising. Which is why they are buying chickens.

Or is the chicken trend so big because we long for days gone by, when life was simpler, when people were more connected to the land, when neighbors did things for each other? If you want that good old-fashioned connection, there's an app for that. All you have to do is download Poultry Pal from an app store near you. And there's always an app store near you if you have a smartphone.

But I do wonder what's next. I know people are putting beehives in their backyards and on their rooftops. But what happens when your next-door neighbor wants to raise his own sheep? Or cows? Or buffalo? I guess it would depend on whether they're dropping by with "extra" beef or not. w."



Why bother, I thought. He's seen places on my body that I haven't. Maybe more people would get physicals if the doctors had to take off their clothes every time they asked you to take off yours. My nude comfort level is very low. I don't even wear shorts in the summer.

Doctors wonder why people wait so long to get their problems fixed. I'll tell them why: I spend half my time at the doctor's office saying, "You want to do what to my what?!?!" and "You don't reuse these cups, do you?"

But when you think about it, the doctors are going to examine you once you get sick, and it's going to be just as embarrassing then as it is when you're healthy. So you may as well suck up your self-respect and go.

ARCHIVES


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."




© 2009, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast