Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 29, 2014 / 29 Iyar, 5774

One year after that college graduation speech, a degree of reality

By Chris Erskine




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As dynasties go, my family takes its cues mostly from the Habsburgs, whose empire was based on superior fecundity and well-placed bribes. I remind my kids of this every day, as I treat them to yet another grand breakfast.

Mostly, they just ignore me.

So, we're in the kitchen the other morning, the coffee gradually filling our veins with hope and heat and the promise of another royal fortune, when our younger daughter blurts out that it's the one-year anniversary of the worst day of her life: the afternoon she graduated from college.

"The absolute worst day," she insisted.

Didn't seem so bad at the time. As it happened, I was there the day she graduated, having flown in from the West Coast to her well-regarded heartland school, the University of Camelot. Mossy Scottish dells are no more lush.

On a windy Midwestern day, they started handing out the diplomas, some 12,000 of them over a series of days. Don't know if you've ever been to a gigantic graduation, but it's funereal the way it works, all the pre-collegiate work — the AP courses, tutoring, service hours — culminating in a dusty handshake from some fossil in a robe. A little medieval, if you ask me.

Since that milestone moment, things have really gone south for my daughter. Her first piece of bad luck was finding a decent job almost immediately. This demanded a certain sudden discipline and self-control that she had not acquired in four years of college.

Right after college, we're all Habsburgs. And Austria is finally slipping away.

Ask anyone who's ever gone to a good university, and they'll tell you the difficult part is getting in; once you're there, it's fairly manageable, and rampantly seductive.

It is, also, the very opposite of what a young adult will encounter in the workplace. In many ways, college makes us even less employable.

In college, you set your own schedule, eat when you want, eventually consuming several metric tons of molten pepperoni pizza.



In college, you get up late, you stay out late and keep somewhat fit at the most elaborate fitness facilities you'll ever see — tanning beds, climbing walls.

If a boyfriend or girlfriend no longer excites you, you just trade them in for another. In college, romance is like a three-day car lease — nothing down.

My favorite college kid story: For Mother's Day, a mom I work with was treated to a weekend visit from her freshman son. When she went to do his laundry, she discovered a pair of his girlfriend's pajama bottoms, and a bikini, amid her son's T-shirts and jeans.

American colleges. If there's a more troubling and decadent place to shred 200 grand, please text me the exact address.

I am a man of tiny doubts and strong opinions. I think Broadway shows are bloated, phony and overwrought. I think supermarket cheeses are tasteless replicas of real cheese. I think Elvis is the poor man's Jesus.

And I wonder now, on the anniversary of my daughter's graduation, whether I let her down, didn't counterbalance all the hedonism of college with more practical fatherly advice, didn't prepare her sufficiently for the transition between Camelot and 50 weeks of office work a year, no more summers off.

Guess I didn't want to scare her, or discourage her, or deaden the most spirited and enjoyable four years of her life.

After a 60-hour week, the realist in me now wants to tell her: "Hang in there, sweetie. You only have 45 more years of this left."

The parent in me wants to buy her ice cream and assure her that it's all going to be all right.

"College," Robert Frost once wrote, "is a refuge from hasty judgment."

So is adulthood.

In time, I suppose she'll adjust to the real world, or shun it and run off to join the circus. More likely, she'll do what we all do when we eventually miss the cheesy succulence of an American childhood:

Have some kids of her own.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


Fifth-grader craves rare treat of idle time
Ripe and middle-aged to perfection
Popcorn as an accessory
O rental car! O rental car! Wherefore ru?
And so we begin
One man's quest for a bestseller, and a gopher
If we could only get them to use their ego for good
Begone, books!
‘Fast Times: The Sequel’
Sinatra would have called a plumber
Seedlings and saplings
A real bear amid the Cubs
In the first grade, life bubbles over
Take my one-liners, please
Just point the way and we'll march
An enchanted diorama in the 'burbs
America's next top Mama
Fires and gas leaks aside, we're just swell
Woozy on the lido deck of life
He's tickled to visit the doctor
A treat that could eat you
Making sense of March Madness
Save the queen, from Biden's motorcade
His daughter's becoming an adult, but is that a good thing?
Thin mints and fungo bats
You must be this tall to enter the ark


© 2014, Los Angeles Times Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast