Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 29, 2013/ 20 Sivan 5773

Obama vs. Obama

By Martin Schram




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The first presidential-legacy debate of 2013 erupted without warning last week, showcasing a surprisingly contentious dispute over, of all things, the national-security leaks and the U.S. Constitution's guarantee of freedom of the press.

The debate seemed to become a face-off pitting a former University of Chicago constitutional-law lecturer, Barack Obama, against America's second commander in chief in the war on terror, Barack Obama.

At this writing, there is no clear winner.

At issue are two Justice Department probes of national-security leaks that were undertaken with the knowledge of Obama's attorney general, Eric Holder. The government was recently revealed to have secretly seized telephone records of the Associated Press after AP reporters learned in 2012 that the CIA and its associates had foiled a Yemen-based al-Qaida plot to bomb an airliner. Also, the Justice Department reportedly used the century-old Espionage Act to obtain phone records, emails and other data of Fox News correspondent James Rosen, labeling him a possible criminal "co-conspirator."

At a May 16 press conference, Obama had said he had "no apologies" for his administration's sweeping effort in which the government obtained records for phones used by perhaps 100 AP journalists. "Leaks related to national security can put people at risk," Obama said. "... And so I make no apologies, and I don't think the American people would expect me, as commander in chief, not to be concerned about information that might compromise their missions or might get them killed."

But on Thursday, in a major counterterrorism policy speech at Washington's National Defense University, Obama sounded more like the con-law prof he used to be. After laying out an academically thoughtful conceptual framework for America's future anti-terrorism policies and prescriptions, the leader who a week earlier had sounded like a "no apologies" national-security prober-in-chief turned, almost apologetically, to the subject of national-security leaks.

"The Justice Department's investigation of national-security leaks offers a recent example of the challenges involved in striking the right balance between our security and our open society," Obama began. "... But a free press is also essential for our democracy. That's who we are. And I'm troubled by the possibility that leak investigations may chill the investigative journalism that holds government accountable. Journalists should not be at legal risk for doing their jobs. Our focus must be on those who break the law."



Why did Obama seem to change so radically his emphasis of tone and substantive concerns in the past week? We may never know for certain -- but one possibility is that even he may not have known all the background when he issued his standard line about how the leaks might have gotten people on a mission killed.

First (and most important): I know of no journalist who would intentionally jeopardize the safety of troops, government agents or their missions for a scoop. I have withheld information at the request of the White House and CIA -- even when it meant losing credit for a scoop. But it is also true that the reporting of certain facts may expose some covert agent in ways a reporter doesn't foresee. According to the AP, it held its story for five days, at the U.S. government's request, until a government official assured the news organization that an operative's mission was no longer in jeopardy. AP says it finally ran the story only after an official said the government planned to release the info itself -- and offered a scoop of just several hours before the official version was released.

Second: The AP records seizure was absurdly broad -- a federal fishing expedition that gave officials secret access to phones used for two months by more than 100 journalists, when only about six worked on the story. Government officials thus gave themselves access to all sorts of info on how the AP gathered unrelated news.

Third: In the case of Fox News' Rosen, all of his communications, emails, meetings and so on were traced -- reportedly even records of his parents' phone after he was listed as a possible "co-conspirator." Yet his report on the plans of North Korea's inner circle for a nuclear test could have tipped off Pyongyang that its communications were intercepted.

Unlike many in my line of work, I'm not a journalist who is quick to claim concerns about a "chilling" effect on my reporting; I figure that mainly comes with the job, every time we promise not to reveal a source's identity -- and keep our word.

But in the Fox correspondent's case, the FBI had plenty of access to the phone, email and other records of a State Department security contractor, Stephen Jin-Woo Kim, who was indicted for providing classified info to Rosen.

The Justice Department's willingness to claim Rosen might be a criminal "co-conspirator" under the rarely used espionage act -- just to get search warrants -- looms as a blatant overreach that should concern all Americans. Even as it now apparently concerns the president. Obama seems so concerned, in fact, that he's ordered a review of how the Justice Department handled the two cases -- a review to be conducted by, of all people, Attorney General Holder.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


03/13/13: VA's growing backlog needs attention now

03/06/13: When a presidency and press corps collide

02/27/13: Washington unintentionally but predictably triggering a coast-to-coast tsunami, freezing job hiring

02/21/13: Cold War vestiges still afflict 2 nuclear cities

01/16/13: Turnabout sucks

01/09/13: Education must be America's new national security priority

11/29/12: Building a budgetary bridge to somewhere

11/24/12: Voters share blame for negative campaigns

10/24/12: Romney displays unusual strategy for winning

10/17/12: Russia drops a bombshell on U.S. nuclear safeguard plan and few notice

10/11/12: A new debate game plan for a new comeback

07/25/12: Washington news, sanitized for officials' comfort

07/18/12: By withholding, Mitt Romney taxes campaign

06/20/12: Cruel consequences spring from an old leak

06/13/12: Gaffes, not facts, dominate presidential race

06/06/12: Command decisions mark new era of video-game warfare

04/25/12: Safeguarding us all in the nuclear age

04/18/12: The battle for the honor of enraging us more

03/28/12: Eavesdropping on diplomacy and politics

02/22/12: Drawing Romney's big picture

01/25/12: Candidates proving that time-tested Marxist theory

01/12/12: Even with primaries still to go, history's longest year starts now

01/05/12: Iowa caucuses reveal news media lapses

12/14/11: How Gingrich stole Mitt's Christmas

11/16/11: Supercommittee's super-sized surrender

11/16/11: Romney talks Texas-tough on Iran

11/03/11: The Silent Majority speaks at last

10/20/11: Outsourcing our democracy; hijacking our holidays

10/13/11: Decline and fall of presidential press conferences

09/28/11: Washington's Monument to broken government

08/17/11: Tax credits for job creation

07/06/11: Obama's on-the-job retraining from Clinton

06/29/11: Obama, Nixon suddenly joined in posterity



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast