Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 15, 2013 / 6 Sivan 5773

Today on NPR: The smothering tax burden

By A. Barton Hinkle




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Advocates Warn Sequester Could Mean Big Cuts for the Low-Income

— National Public Radio,

Feb. 26

Economists See Budget Cuts Putting Economy at Risk

— NPR, Feb. 27

Sequester Spells Uncertainty for Many Public Schools

— NPR, same day

Sequestered Spring Means Fewer Rangers, Services at National Parks

— NPR, March 5

Indian Nations Squeezed by Sequester

— NPR, March 26

Sequester Pinches Long-Term Unemployed Even More

— NPR, Apr. 6

Some Public Defenders Warn: 'We Have Nothing Left to Cut'

— NPR, Apr. 10

Sequester Puts Some Needing Housing Aid 'Back to Square One'

— NPR, Apr. 30

AUDIE CORNISH: Good afternoon. This is "All Things Considered," from NPR News in an Alternate Universe. I'm Audie Cornish.

MELISSA BLOCK: I'm Melissa Block. We begin this hour with a look at the nation's tax burden.

AUDIE CORNISH: You've probably heard a lot about the effects of the sequester on various government programs and the people they serve. We thought it was time to look at the other side of the coin.

MELISSA BLOCK: Joining us now is NPR's Pam Fessler, who has spoken with a couple of taxpayers about the painful tax burden they bear. Pam?

PAM FESSLER: That's right, Melissa. I first spoke with a man named Chipper Wilson, who runs a plumbing-repair business in Fredericksburg, Virginia. Wilson says the combination of federal, state and local taxes makes it pretty tough for him to make ends meet.

CHIPPER WILSON: It seems like they always got their hand in your pocket. It's not just the income taxes. They nickel-and-dime you to death. I got to pay sales taxes and business taxes and property taxes and on and on. It just seems like they never cut you a break.

AUDIE CORNISH: And Virginia is actually a pretty low-tax state, isn't it Pam?

PAM FESSLER: Right, Audie — although some might say that's like being the shortest player in the NBA. The state's top tax rate of almost 6 percent starts at an income level of only $17,000 a year. For Chipper Wilson, a divorcÚ whose children are grown, that goes on top of his 25 percent federal tax rate, plus his local real-estate tax.

CHIPPER WILSON: Cost me more than a grand a year for a 1,500-foot rancher. Plus you got your car tax. And I got to pay tax on my business van, not to mention the gas tax.

PAM FESSLER: Last year Wilson paid almost $2,600 in taxes on fuel for his personal vehicle, a Chevy Metro, and his Ford Econoline van.

CHIPPER WILSON: I got to pay the business-property tax. I got to pay the BPOL tax.

PAM FESSLER: That's a gross-receipts business tax. In Virginia, companies have to pay taxes on the revenue they collect, not just the profit they make.

MELISSA BLOCK: Wait, wait — so somebody like Chipper Wilson can end up with a big tax liability even if he has a loss for the year?

PAM FESSLER: It sounds incredible, but it's true. That tax actually dates back more than two centuries; it was originally passed to help finance the War of 1812.

AUDIE CORNISH: I thought that war was over by now.

PAM FESSLER: Well, it is. It is. But remember what Ronald Reagan once said: "Government programs, once launched, never disappear," and that apparently goes for taxes, too.

I also spoke with Abigail Ferschleiser of Bayonne, New Jersey. She and her husband David are trying to save up enough money to put their daughter Claire through college.

ABIGAIL FERSCHLEISER: It's hard, you know? We scrimp and save, we don't go out to eat, we buy in bulk, we do Redbox instead of going out to the movies.

PAM FESSLER; David Ferschleiser runs a chain of dry cleaners with several locations and just over 60 employees. He worries about what will happen when health care reform takes full effect.

DAVID FERSCHLEISER: We've always provided our workers with a small mini-med health plan. It just seems like the right thing to do. But with the new Obamacare mandates, we'll be teetering on the brink, you know. We run a thin margin as it is. We just can't afford it.

ABIGAIL FERSCHLEISER: I added up all our taxes last year — federal and state and everything — and it's the single biggest expense we have. We pay more in taxes than we spend on our mortgage and our grocery bill.

PAM FESSLER: I checked with The Tax Foundation's Michael Huntington, and he confirms that Americans pay more in taxes than they do for food, clothing, and shelter — combined.

MELISSA BLOCK: I'm sorry, could you repeat that? That can't be right. I'm — I'm just having a hard time wrapping my head around it.

PAM FESSLER: Well, here's what Huntington had to say.

MICHAEL HUNTINGTON, THE TAX FOUNDATION: For most of the 20th century and up to today, Americans have paid more in taxes than they do for those three life essentials, except for one brief period in the 1980s. The biggest disparity occurred in 2000, when Americans paid almost a fifth more in taxes than they spent on food, clothing and shelter combined. The gap has narrowed since then, but we still have a long way to go to conquer the tax monster.

AUDIE CORNISH: But it seems like we're going in the wrong direction, doesn't it? Obamacare will impose $1 trillion in new taxes, we just had another $600 billion tax hike in the fiscal-cliff deal at the beginning of the year, and now Congress is talking about imposing taxes on internet sales. All that has to act as a tremendous drag on the economy.

PAM FESSLER: Every serious economist I've spoken to would agree with that assessment.

AUDIE CORNISH: OK. Pam Fessler, thanks very much. We'll be right back with more of "All Things Considered" from NPR in an Alternate Universe.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

A. Barton Hinkle is Deputy Editor of the Editorial Pages at Richmond Times-Dispatch Comment by clicking here.


Previously:




04/30/13: What does Boston say about diversity?
04/25/13: For some libs, 'courage' = agreeing with them
04/18/13: Utterly outraged by their president's callous betrayal
04/11/13: Cognitive dissonance on guns
04/04/13: Do unto others, but not unto us, say the media
04/01/13: Observations from the auto shop holding pen
03/14/13: The nation-building follies
03/12/13: Will the right come around on pot?
03/07/13: Another U.S. dupe falls for a dictator
02/28/13: How dare you say that here!
02/26/13: Eating Frito-Lay chips at gunpoint
02/20/13: Death Star petitions are just what we need
02/13/13: ObamaCare proves law correct --- deep down you knew it would
01/29/13: It's Time to Get Judgy About Incompetency
01/23/13: Look who's mocking fascist fear-mongering now
01/16/13: Only in Washington could you get away with referring to spending and tax increases as spending 'cuts'
01/09/13: Obama begins his second term, Bush's fourth
01/07/13: Who's Attacking the Constitution Now?
01/03/13: Why, historically, January is the perfect time to debate the filibuster
12/26/12: When libs devalue diversity
12/20/12: Mark Your Calendars
12/13/12: Gun control, ad infinitum
12/11/12: Fracking can help fix the CO2 problem
12/06/12: Let's open the door to lots more immigration
12/04/12: Who's watching the kids? Just about everyone
11/29/12: The Real Middle-Class Champion was Mocked and Opposed
11/26/12: It's time to cut a deal on the budget
11/20/12: The case for a carbon tax
11/15/12: Cue the hysterics. Reports of Democracy's Death Greatly Exaggerated
11/07/12: The $4,000 Trash Can: We need regulation, but not this much
10/23/12: The Ballad of Islamist Rage Boy
10/17/12: Undermining the values that enable people in poverty to escape it? Sadly, yes
10/11/12: How Much Is This Tax Cut Gonna Cost Me, Doc?
10/04/12: Warrantless spying skyrockets under Obama
08/20/12: The wrong side absolutely must not win
08/14/12: America was not built on dirt alone
08/02/12: Libs Discover Their Inner Cheney
07/30/12: Feds want to help you --- whether you want help or not
07/23/12: Barack Obama, Storyteller-in-Chief
07/23/12: Nation's worst outsourcer? You
07/19/12: Listen up, America: You need to knuckle under
07/12/12: Obama, Romney: As Different as Two Peas in a Pod
07/05/12: Are teenagers big children --- or little adults?
06/25/12: Minorities treated as mere numbers
06/21/12: Memo to the the Little Guy: Seemingly innocuous activity could bring the federal hammer down out of a clear blue sky
06/19/12: We mustn't let America be buffaloed
05/31/12: Drop and Give Uncle Sam 20
05/15/12: The feds would like to know if you enjoyed that video
05/03/12: Obama inspires: 'America --- Still Not as Bad Off as Venezuela!'
04/26/12: It's everyone's favorite time of year again
03/29/12: GOP disillusionment is a good thing
03/27/12: Just what America needs: more red tape
03/20/12: Nation wondering: what happening to language?
02/21/12: Culture warriors resort to propaganda
02/15/12: Step away from that cookie and grab some air
02/08/12: Lessons in heresy
02/01/12: Do We Really Need Pickle-Flavored Potato Chips?
01/11/12: Shut up, they explained
12/30/11: A Modest Proposal: Let's Ban All Sports!
12/26/11: A Christmas letter from the Obamas
02/24/11: Will the next Watson need us?
12/24/10: Here Are Some Good Gifts for People You Hate
06/15/10: The Presinator
05/26/10: More than equal
04/08/10: Angry Right Takes a Page From Angry Left but guess who is ‘ugly’?
02/16/10: Either Obama owes George W. Bush an apology, or he owes the rest of us a very good explanation for his about-face on wiretapping
02/03/10: Talkin' to us 'tards
01/27/10: I never thought I'd see the day when progressives would howl in ragebecause the Supreme Court said government should not ban books
01/07/10: Gun-Control Advocates Play Fast and Loose
12/31/09: Nearly everything progressives say about neoconservative interventionism abroad applies to their own preferred policies at home





© 2011, A. Barton Hinkle

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast