Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 2, 2012/ 10 Iyar, 5772

The Secret Service: Not that Secret about getting Serviced

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Of late, is has been like drinking water through a fire hose for us op-ed humorists.

First we have the abundant blessing of the John Edwards trial. Tension builds on the chance that his hair might turn states' evidence against him. Then Obama-appointed EPA regional administrator Almendariz gets caught as no Obama disciple wants to be, saying what he really thinks: effectively, the EPA likes to crucify business. Then there was the GSA boondoggle. I had the picture beside me of the head of the GSA in his $2,000-a-night Las Vegas hotel room as I wrote my April 15th tax check to Obama for my "fair share." And if it wasn't his wife who took that picture of him luxuriating in the tub with TWO glasses of fine wine at the ready, he may need Secret Service protection from her.

Then there is the gift that keeps on giving, the Secret Service hooker scandal, which seems to have widened to El Salvador and beyond - and there are not many things wider than Janet Napolitano. The Inspector Clouseau of America appeared before Congress with her 80's gym teacher haircut and comfortable shoes, assuring Congress that this was a one-time event. Perhaps in her life she has not been a part of any male sexual activity; therefore it must not exist.

But Senators wanted to know more: Who were these women, do you have pictures, and would they do a three-way with a Senator in exchange for building a taxpayer-funded bridge in their village?

I said it a week ago: Since I have been a dude pretty much my entire life, I know for sure from the way that frat party unfolded -- and contrary to what the administration said -- that was not their first rodeo.

Our government employees caused a scene and Colombian authorities were called. In another example of American exceptionalism, we successfully exceeded the debauchery tolerance of Colombia, the cocaine capital of the world, where prostitution is legal. I would be proud if I were not paying for it with my taxes.

This thing was a train wreck waiting to happen. I am surprised it had gone so long undetected by the vigilant White House "press corps" that rides along with the President on every trip. Perhaps they were busy braiding Obama administration officials' hair during sleepovers. What does it take -- the Secret Service guys getting Abe a lap dance at the Lincoln Memorial?

The woman at the center of the scandal charged $47 for sex, which is money well spent when you consider that John Edwards used campaign money for a $400 haircut.

Faced with embarrassment, the Secret Service does what government has done for years: divert attention, in this case by roughing up rock star Ted Nugent for his verbal bravado. It is silly to interview Ted Nugent, almost as nuts as considering him relevant or a rock star. When you are this White House, you are constantly searching for new enemies to blame for a failed administration.

Good call roughing up Ted Nugent, because as we know, our country's primary problem is an aging rocker who likes his Second Amendment rights. Maybe the Secret Service should question 80's rock band 38 Special; they sound dangerous. The only thing Ted Nugent and 38 Special are assaulting these days is the early bird special.

My problem is not what people do in their private time; that is a personal issue. If they want to take the risk, that's their business. Sleeping with a hooker is risky, much like bungee jumping--- in either case, if the rubber breaks you are probably dead.

We libertarians are fine with someone choosing to sell sex for a living in the private sector at the market price. But like most things the Democrats do, in this case they think there should be a give-away program of the product for the entitled few.

I am mostly troubled that there are now 6,500 Secret Service employees protecting one president. Two hundred of them got to Colombia a week in advance of the president's visit, stayed in a five-star hotel, and bullied some local hookers. And Democrats accuse Republicans of waging a "war on women"? On the upside for Obama, these women's jobs are the only ones we've been able to confirm that his administration has created.

Aside from the cost, I am afraid the Secret Service is not that Secret, and its agents are the ones getting Serviced.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

Who are Really the Heroes?

GSA Vegas excesses? Bush's fault

Temptation of the Tebow

ObamaCare---Once They Get their Commerce Claws in Us, What's the Limit?

Obama's Campaign Theme: Taxation and Demonization

DNA and Me: Family Facts not Genome for Years

College for Everyone? Some Children Need to be Left Behind

Hope for the Hip-Hop-ocrisy at the Grammys

The Bain of Our Existence

Confusing Obama and 'Go Bama'

E-conning the Public, Washington Spending, and Other Shell Games

Looking Back at 2011

Kim Jong Il: North Koreans Love You Long Time --- it's Mandatory

What the MF-- Global?

The GOP Primaries: The Adultery of Hope

No Thankfulness at Thanksgiving for the OWS Crowd

Cain Mutiny, or a ‘High-tech Lynching?’

Slipping into an Envy-ocracy

An honest, if unconventional, assessment of those vying to wipe that smirk off Obama's smug mug

The Unwashed Masses Descend on New York City

Obama ‘pivots to jobs’ --- his

Washington: Blame No One. Do Something!

Our Debt Problems: Politicians Extend and Pretend

No Child Left --- To the Left

Dems' debt ceiling demagoguery

Golf Summit --- I Like Spike(s)

Nancy Pelosi Finally Demands a Weiner Probe

The porkulus political payback project

Schwarzenegger, please!

An ILL Wind for Business --- Boeing, Boeing Gone?

Osama's 72 Virgins --- and Obama's 72 Versions

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles