Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Osama bin Laden was killed by Navy Seals and dumped into the sea New Jersey Mafia-style. So we can say that he was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes. Perfect.

Obama, who spends much of his time vilifying high achievers, should be proud of this elite force on which we call when we need a job done right.

It was a good thing they got Osama. It was getting harder to translate the audio tapes he distributed. Ever since the "Cash for Clunkers" program, it has been tough to find a car with an eight-track tape player.

"Usama" bin Laden (he changes his name more often than P-Diddy) was finally shot after being identified living large in the suburbs of Islamabad for more than four years. Living in the 'burbs, attracted by lower taxes, less crime and good schools, bin Laden was heard to say, "I like it out here; there's less Shiites to put up with." I am told, however, that he went into the city on occasion for a nice meal and to see some shows.

In 2006 he built a walled-in, $1 million house. It wasn't at all conspicuous, since comps in the neighborhood ranged from mostly $2,000 homes with one-camel garages to some fixer-up tents. Yet we got him. But, like many Americans, buying a big house at the top of the market might have eventually killed him.

Among other lessons learned, we need to rethink giving $3.4 billion a year to slippery and untrustworthy governments like Pakistan's.

Osama's crib was less than a mile from Pakistan's equivalent of West Point. He was protected by Pakistani officials for the same reason Elvis was protected by the Memphis police: he was a celeb and a big tipper.

What is more interesting to me is how purely political Obama and the left are when it comes to an event like this. Senator Obama, who said it was "immoral to raise the debt ceiling," opposed every effort by the Bush administration to fight terror. When they gathered human intelligence and detained suspected enemy combatants at Gitmo, our forces were even called "terrorists" and "rapists" by some in his party.

So the Obama doctrine must be, as far as I can tell, that it is OK to bust into a terrorist's home and kill him, but we just cannot waterboard him to get information that can avert future attacks. Interesting how the logic works. It is the same logic applied to being pro-abortion and anti-death penalty, or vice versa for the GOP.

Like the few wealthy Democrats, Osama did not make his own money. He inherited $80 million from his successful dad and then went on to use it to pursue ideology. He got money he did not earn and spread radical jihad like Paris Hilton took her inheritance and spread STDs. Examples like bin Laden are why I so value self-made people.

Rounding out his silver-spoon street cred, Osama's latest theme was that the U.S. is not "green" enough and we caused global warming. Like many stars, bin Laden tried to burnish his green image through his publicist, Bernie Schwartz. Due to his untimely death, bin Laden was unable to implement his plan that all suicide bombers who drive a car into a crowded village to kill innocent people should do so with an environmentally friendly Chevy Volt. If he thought it was hot on earth because of global warming, he must really think it is hot where he is now.

Obama was smart to order bin Laden buried at sea so as not to let him become a martyr. Obama also averted further Jimmy Carter comparisons by not meddling with special ops in a Mid-Eastern commando mission. That is why he waited so long; the government has had this intel since last year. We are also nearer to the 2012 elections now. But give President Obama credit for doing what Candidate Obama ran against.

Kudos to our brave troops and Navy Seals for a job well done. Now let's bring our troops home and let the drones and commandos go in on the rare occasions we need them to take out a target. We have accomplished our mission and we cannot afford to occupy these countries any longer.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles