Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 16, 2011 / 12 Iyar, 5771

Inspiration

By Alan Douglas




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When I was 17, I went to Europe with a high school friend. We were idealistic, impressionable, and eager to learn. We were "know-it-alls". When we landed in England, we yearned to see the heritage of Shakespeare, Winston Churchill, and the Knights of the round-table. While on the train to London, I watched every home and storefront for glimpses of this history. It was a noble land, which had given birth to the Magna Charta and endured the blitz. Here and there, I saw signs that read, "Take Courage." A noble country, a land where their values were on display, exalted by all. Pointing them out to my high school buddy, I said, "What a great people, look at that sign, "Take Courage," We should have inspirational signs like that!" Another passenger on the train overheard our conversation and, after a laugh, said, "Sonny, Courage is a brand of beer over here."

The brave, dramatic, and sexy act of courage is highly valued. For some, it is about facing fears and overcoming them. Others start out fearless. It is a primary ingredient for testosterone dreams and movies. Courage is important, but do not confuse it with the equally (perhaps more important) virtue of patience. In his Nobel Prize acceptance speech, William Faulkner said he believed that human beings would, in the end, not only endure…but also prevail. It has a stirring and optimistic finale, we all live for larger goals in theory. But what helps to get the average person through the average day? A good shot of inspiration with heroes and goals gives us that inspiration. That should not make your daily struggle appear any less worthy. Sometimes, survival is winning the battle. Living to fight another day could very well be considered victory. Unless you live to fight another day; it is certain there will not be any victory.

Small acts of kindness and small acts of survival are important. Give yourself and others credit for accomplishing them. Life does not always present us with legendary villains or quests befitting of a super-hero. Caregivers for aging, quarrelsome, ungrateful parents rarely receive awards. Parents, teachers, accountants and maintenance workers do their daily duties without applause. Sometimes we agonize about what we have to "put up with". We tolerate much, and forgive even more. We let it pass. We suck it up, to be a better person and do what is right. Philosopher William James claimed, "The art of being wise is the art of knowing what to overlook." Author and playwright, William Stryon, said, "Pain makes man think, thought makes man wise, wisdom makes life endurable." Living by our own standards means that sometimes you won't get the gold ring - or prevail. If life does manage to balance rewards and penalties, it is rare that any of us are able to read the scoreboard. Bill Lyon also pointed that, "If at first you don't succeed, find out if the loser gets anything."

Develop your understanding and capability for patience. Both courage and patience are required if you are truly committed to living by your own standards and beliefs. Accomplishing goals in this world is often achieved by action preceded by years of prior failure, pain, and waiting. Winston Churchill wrote of his "Wilderness Years" when he was out of power and scorned. Vice President Theodore Roosevelt was atop a mountain, pondering his failure, professional isolation, and the end of his career, when he received news that the president had been shot.

James Michner could not sell his writing. He opened his front door one morning to find a package on his doorstep, which contained his manuscript. It was being returned to him from his literary agent, who informed Michner that he would no longer represent him. Michner went to work where his boss told him that he was fired. As he was packing up his belongings a telegram arrived to tell Michner that his "Stories of the South Pacific" had been awarded the Pulitzer Prize.

Even if you don't get the trophy, you will get points for surviving from those of us who know what it is like to "do battle". You can change how you keep score. My wife fought against hostility, threats, and guilt, and battled to honor her mother's wishes regarding death with dignity. It drained my wife. Despite my support, it was a lonely, thankless, harsh obligation. Her mother had made it easier for herself while she was alive by intentionally telling everyone what they wanted to hear; even when it was contradictory. To commemorate my wife's battle I presented her with a golden plate, which was inscribed with a passage from the scriptures. The passage read, "A woman of valor, who can find her? She stretches her hand out to the poor; she reaches forth her hand to the needy. Strength and Honor are her clothing, she shall rejoice in a time to come. She shall be honored for her kindness and good deeds. She speaks words of wisdom, compassion is her virtue. She has patience and devotion for her family."

Let others know how much you value them, their courage, and for their patience. Next time you give a toast, consider quoting Victor Hugo, who said, "Have courage for the great sorrows of life, and patience for the small ones."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Alan Douglas, an author, media executive, speaker, and attorney, lives con brio- except when he is grumpy.


Previously:

Confusing Kindness with Weakness
When Katie Couric Got Pulled Off the Air…
Don't second guess the deceased
Pain and legacies
Being in the No
The Sixth Sense
Dogs in Danger
Facebook, LinkedIn and the Zuckerberg Exit
Simon Bolivar Would Tell Glenn Beck to, ‘Put A Sock In It’
Children and Grandchildren
Swearing, Shoes, and Mark Twain
How my poor man's Porsche, Virgil, prepared me for life
Leases and Landing Gear
The Oscars, Obama and Job Creation
Damages and Penalties
Obstacles with Impossibilities
Making Others Feel Bad
Referrals and Recommendations
Woodpecker Frustration
Phrases, Not Resolutions
I Was A Crime Fighter and Super Hero
Comforting with Sympathizing
Nautical Worry Killers
Can You Keep A Secret?
Holiday Card Hazards
Gifts
Sharing, Transparency and Dumping
Red Alert
Readers Respond Regarding Rabbi
Readers: I Need Your Help with my Rabbi
Humphrey Bogart and P. T. Barnum on Fighting with Family and Friends
Columbus, Honors and Hound Dogs
The Free Lunch
When your child suffers
Conversational Transmitted Diseases
Conservative, Liberal or American
Paris, Antarctica and Shopping
Personal Protection
Dispute Resolution
Jumped or Pushed?
Friends and Acquaintances
Revenge and Vindication

© 2010 Alan Douglas

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles