Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 20, 2011 / 16 Iyar, 5771

I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I get a lot of mail from people who watch me on The O'Reilly Factor or have read my books or the columns I post here on my Web site. Most of it is smart. That's the stuff written by people like you. Some of it is stupid. Really, really stupid. That's the stuff written by other people.

Obviously, it would be a big waste of time to dwell on the stupid emails. So let's do it. Why? Because it's fun, that's why.

After President Obama released his long form birth certificate I got some emails from folks who said they weren't buying it.

Shirley sent me (and lots of other people) an email that began, "The Joke's on You America — A Closer Look at Obama's Birth Certificate." Shirley then went on to inform me (and anyone else unlucky enough to be on her mailing list) that the document was phony.

Here's the opening of her email, which was incredibly well-reasoned for a woman who was clearly off her meds:

"Fellow Patriot,

"President Barack Obama's long form birth certificate released at last — we knew it was too good to be true.

"In his attempts to quell Donald Trump's demands for the never-released long-form birth certificate, President Barack Obama may have just landed himself even deeper in the controversy.

"After closer investigation, sources say the document has been altered and that whoever did it wasn't ever very clever at doing so."

"We're not public records experts by any means," Shirley informs us, "but it does not take anything more than common sense to know that President Barack Hussein Obama is trying to pull a fast one on us…"

So let's see if I understand this: Barack Obama is so devious that even though he was born in Kenya, or someplace else foreign, he still manages to fool (some) people into thinking he was born in Hawaii, then comes up with a birth certificate that is so clearly fraudulent that even a chucklehead like Shirley who is no public records expert can detect the alterations.

Memo to all: Anytime you get an email that says it comes from "Shirley" carefully pick up your computer, walk it into the bathroom, and flush it down the toilet. You can thank me later. I also got an email from Bill, on the same subject. This one said, "The document lists the President's father's birthplace as Kenya. But Kenya didn't officially become Kenya until December 12, 1963. The President was born in 1961. Would his birth certificate list a country that wasn't officially a country?"

Bill goes on: "Before that date, the land was officially British East Africa Protectorate, or simply British East Africa. It was also referred to as Kenya Colony, or the Protectorate of Kenya. Was it referred to simply as 'Kenya?' Yes, in this map of Africa from 1950 [at this point Bill attaches a link to the aforementioned map].

And Bill then writes, "It is conceivable that Kenya was put on the birth certificate instead of the official 'British East Africa Protectorate' or even 'British East Africa.' I would think at a minimum, it would say 'Colony of Kenya,' since that is how it was described in 1961.

"Simply putting Kenya is conceivable, but it does cause me to go: Hmmmmm."

You know what causes me to go Hmmmmmm, Bill? The fact that you're not locked up in the Paranoid Ward of the State Mental Institution.

Not long ago I wrote about the promiscuous use of the word "racist" by liberals to try to silence Donald Trump and anyone else who disagrees with President Obama on just about any subject. That one earned me an email from Rick, who wrote (and this is the entirety of his post): "Your a rasist!"

Three words and this dummy gets two of them wrong!

I hope this column generates lots of posts and emails. But not the regular … normal … kind. Instead, try to make them as stupid (and funny) as you can. The winner gets a prize: a date with Shirley or Bill, depending on your preference. You can go to dinner and talk about how Barack Obama is a secret agent of the Muslim Brotherhood and stuff like that. Or, you can go to the zoo with Rick, buy him some ice cream and a balloon and ask if he can spell "Cat." If he's behaving, spot him the c and the a.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank
Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles