Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 26, 2011 / 22 Iyar, 5771

Are women funny?

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This is a serious question that silly men in Hollywood have been asking each other since the birth of the spit take.

It is hard to imagine a more insulting question. You don't have to be a woman to be insulted. Any human being with a basic understanding of comedy would be insulted at such a question.

And yet, the question of whether a woman can be funny has persisted to such a degree in the executive suites of the movie studios that there was endless speculation in advance of the opening of the comedy "Bridesmaids" as to whether it could make any money.

It didn't matter that the movie was getting incredibly good reviews before it opened. That wasn't the point. The point was that so-called experts were wondering if the movie public would bother to buy tickets to a female movie comedy.

"Bridesmaids" opened better than expected, although the expectations — even by the studio that released it — were intentionally kept low because of the ridiculous idea held by the studios that the public believed that women could not write and star in a funny movie.

Well, Annie Mumolo is funny. And she's a woman.

Mumolo had a small role in "Bridesmaids." She plays a nervous airline passenger who sits next to Kristen Wiig. Annie would have had a much bigger role in the movie — as one of the bridesmaids — if she had not been eight months' pregnant at the time of the filming.

How does she know she would have had a bigger role? Oh, did I forget to mention that Mumolo was not only a co-producer on the film, but wrote the comedy with Wiig?



RECEIVE LIBERTY LOVING COLUMNISTS IN YOUR INBOX … FOR FREE!

Every weekday NewsAndOpinion.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


And they're both women! How is that possible?

The strong showing at the box office not only settled the argument over whether women are funny, but it made a star out of Wiig, and turned Mumolo into one of the hottest screenwriters in Hollywood. She already has signed to write a second movie ("Bridesmaids" was her first screenplay) with another cast member from "Bridesmaids" — Melissa McCarthy.

Mumolo, Wiig and McCarthy met while members of the Los Angeles-based improvisational comedy troupe the Groundlings. Apparently, The Groundlings forgot to read the memo about women not being funny.

"I don't quite get that whole women can't be funny thing," the screenwriter told me last week. "That's crazy. Have people never seen a Goldie Hawn movie? Or a Lily Tomlin movie? Or a Madeline Kahn movie? Or anything with Gilda Radner?"

Hey, what about Lucille Ball?

Mumolo acknowledges that there is this myth in Hollywood about women, but she and Wiig were undaunted when they started writing "Bridesmaids" in 2006.

"It never crossed our minds," she explained. "This project started just because we wanted to write something that we could put all our funny friends in. We tried to get as many of them as we could into the movie, but there are still so many waiting in the wings. There are so many funny women."

The mother of two small children, Mumolo said she and Wiig never concerned themselves with the possible roadblocks in front of them caused by ignorant studio prejudices.

"We weren't even aware of those feelings until just before the movie opened, and all these articles started to appear about whether women were funny enough to carry a movie. Suddenly, the fate of women in comedy was hanging on how well 'Bridesmaids' did at the box office.

"Our goal was just to get a movie made," she added. "We never set out to save the world of comedy for women."

But that's how it works in Hollywood. If one person — or in this case, two women — can show studios that something is possible, the town will change. You can bet the funny farm that studios are clamoring to make comedies with women.

The success of "Bridesmaids" changed some backward thinking in the industry, and it's moving Mumolo's career forward.

"I'm not sure how much my life has changed," she said. "It's only been a week, and I'm still living in my little blue house in Burbank, with 15 loads of laundry ready to go.

"But I do think that some of my crazy ideas are being taken a little more seriously now. I just sold a pitch, there are offers on the table and even TV is possible."

Mumolo attended University of California Berkeley as a history major. She dabbled in theater, but didn't get serious about show business until after college.

"I grew up in love with the movies, and I somehow wanted to be involved in making movies."

Well, she's involved in making movies now, even though she's just a funny woman.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles