Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 21, 2010 / 8 Sivan

Navigating with your iPhone

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The trip came up quite suddenly, and there was a timeline involved: I had to get somewhere near Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and do so rather quickly. Fortunately, this was on a weekend, so I wouldn't have the workday traffic to deal with.


I knew the general vicinity of where I was going, but wanted to get there with minimal delays. So, I turned to my iPhone and a GPS-based navigation program from Tom Tom, the European firm that's among the leaders in the GPS market. I've long enjoyed the firm's stand-alone GPS devices; the iPhone application should of a piece with the other products.


There was no disappointment: for a $59 program (for U.S. maps; an extra $10 will get you Canada, too), the Tom Tom iPhone software does a very good job, and I'm happy to recommend it.


The first plus is Tom Tom's basic GPS/mapping display on the iPhone's screen. The graphics are not only realistic; they're easy to understand and to follow. "Distracted driving" can be a reality for many these days, but it's possible to quickly glance at the Tom Tom GPS display and see what you need to see before returning your eyes to the road.


The turn-by-turn narration (available in your choice of languages and, in the case of English, accents) is superb. It's clear without being too obtrusive; you get a "heads up" about a half-mile before an action should take place, then a "Turn right, now," if that's what you're supposed to do at the given intersection. The GPS screen also shows street names so you can double-check where you're headed.


The proof of any GPS system is the level of "freshness" of the data. I can't say this with "metaphysical certitude," as John McLoughlin might require, but it seems the Tom Tom app updates its geographical data quite regularly: I haven't missed a "new" street yet, and that's nice given that my (new) home address can't be found with some systems.


I also like the price of the application: it seems more than reasonable, given that a separate Tom Tom GPS can start at around $100 and work its way up. You'd want to get a car mount for the iPhone and find some way to charge it while driving, especially over long distances. My solution, acquired long before the Tom Tom application, is tied into my car's aftermarket Pioneer stereo system. It charges the phone, plays the audio through the speaker system, and keeps everything together.


The only "negative" is that to hear the audio through the stereo speakers, the Pioneer stereo has to play the iTunes audio stored on the phone; it won't work to have the HD Radio on and expect the travel directions. Then again, this is a condition common to other iPhone-based navigation apps, so I can't complain too much.


The latest version of the Tom Tom application will let you add a real-time traffic feature for an extra $20. I haven't tried that feature yet, but it seems a reasonable price to pay, even if some of the "comments" at the Apple iTunes "App Store" are less complimentary about this - they think the feature should be free.


There are less-expensive GPS solutions than the Tom Tom iPhone app, but I remain impressed that this no-nonsense, practical software is a very good value. What's more, globe-trotters can acquire similar applications for Greece, Eastern Europe, Brazil, the Middle East, Europe and Mauritius, among other places. I like the idea of being able to load up a bunch of maps, hop in my rental car and get somewhere with a good degree of confidence in my digital travel assistant.


More information about the iPhone application can be found at http://bit.ly/dwKgcG. If you have the Apple phone, you'll want to check into this software.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles