Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 11, 2010 / 27 Iyar 5770

Our loss of massive air superiority

By Jack Kelly

>



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Something amazing in the history of modern warfare happened in the fall of 2001, which made possible the rapid and (for us) nearly bloodless overthrow of the Taliban regime in Afghanistan.


If the leaders of the Air Force and our political leaders had grasped the significance of what had occurred, we might not now be facing the loss of the massive air superiority we have enjoyed in every conflict since the early days of the Korean War (1950-53).


I noted in an earlier column that our warplanes are aging badly; that a "fighter gap" is emerging, and that the chief of staff said the Air Force is willing to settle for "simple sufficiency in areas where it's been accustomed to dominance."


The primary reason for the fighter gap is that modern fighters -- the F-22 and F-35 -- cost an awful lot more than the F-15s, F-16s and A-10s they're supposed to replace, and neither Congress nor the president have been willing to spend the money required to keep the fighter force from shrinking substantially.


I also hinted in that column the solution to the fighter gap might not be a fighter at all. That's because I learned the lesson of the fall of the Taliban.


That lesson is that bombers, armed with precision guided weapons and assisted in targeting by Special Forces teams, were able to provide accurate, timely, close air support to friendly forces on the ground, a truly revolutionary development.


In fact, the bombers -- chiefly B-52s -- had two advantages over the fighters the Air Force, Navy and Marine Corps customarily use for close air support.


The first was loiter time. Because of their greater fuel capacity, bombers could stay in the vicinity where ground forces might need them much longer than the typical fighter-bomber could.


The second is that because of their greater size, bombers could carry a larger number and a greater variety of ground attack weapons than a fighter could.


In Afghanistan bombers had a third and decisive advantage. They could get to the battlefield, whereas the Air Force had no fighter bases within range.


Afghanistan was a "benign" environment. Our bombers could remain high in the sky, knowing full well the Taliban had no weapons that could reach them. This wouldn't be so if we had to fight China or Russia, or even Iran -- if Russia delivers to Iran the S-300 surface to air missiles it's promised to sell them. By 2020, the only bomber we have that is likely to be able to penetrate their defenses is the B-2 Spirit, of which we have exactly 20.


But this is true also of every fighter we currently have except the F-22 Raptor. The F-35 Joint Strike Fighter will have stealth properties, too, but it's still in development, and Defense Secretary Robert Gates has cut back substantially on the planned F-35 buy because of production problems and soaring costs.


There are some ground attack missions for which only a nimble fighter like the F-22 will do. But -- thanks to precision guided standoff munitions -- for most, a bomber is superior.


Bombers cost a lot more to build than fighters do. In 1997, the flyaway unit cost of the B-2 was $1.16 billion, compared to a projected flyaway unit cost of $149 million for the F-35. But bombers need much less tanker support than fighters do, and little need for overseas bases.


A handful of bombers can attack the same number of targets as a squadron of fighter-bombers. Since personnel costs are the largest and fastest growing of defense costs, this means bombers can deliver substantially more bang for the buck.


Bombers have operational advantages, too. Because they can be based chiefly in the United States, they're easier to protect when they're on the ground. And, as we saw in Afghanistan, bombers can respond quickly to crises emerging in far corners of the world that fighter bombers cannot until overseas bases are established for them.


The mainstay of our bomber force is the B-52. We have 94 in service, despite the fact the B-52 began its service in 1952. The longevity of the B-52 is a testament to the viability of bombers, but it's past time for a replacement.


Actually, two replacements. We need an upgrade to the B-2 which can penetrate sophisticated air defenses, and a much less expensive subsonic bomber which can be used in benign environments like Afghanistan, or after holes have been blown in the enemy's air defenses.


If we were to build new bombers, we'd need far fewer F-35s. But fighters look snazzy and are fun to fly, and the Air Force is run by fighter pilots.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2009, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles